• Mutts and Mistletoe

  • By: Natalie Cox
  • Narrated by: Marisa Calin
  • Length: 9 hrs and 17 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (30 ratings)

Pick 1 title (2 titles for Prime members) from our collection of bestsellers and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
Your Premium Plus plan will continue for $14.95 a month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.
Mutts and Mistletoe  By  cover art

Mutts and Mistletoe

By: Natalie Cox
Narrated by: Marisa Calin
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Such a funny, sparky book...An ideal read for anyone who's a fan of Christmas or dogs - or both!" (Sophie Kinsella, New York Times best-selling author)

Thirty-one-year-old Charlie isn't in the mood for Christmas cheer....

Her boyfriend has left her for his personal trainer, her mother has absconded with her latest husband for the holidays, and - adding insult to (literal) injury - her London apartment has just been destroyed by a gas leak. Single, mildly concussed, and temporarily homeless, Charlie realizes there's only one place to go: Cozy Canine Cottages, where she'll spend the season looking after her cousin Jez's doggy day care center. And if she's not exactly a dog person, well, no one has to know.... 

But her plans for a quiet Christmas in a quaint country village are quickly dashed. Peggy the pregnant beagle and Malcolm the anxious Great Dane seem determined to keep her up all night. A strange man has been casing her cousin's house. And where is Cal, the unbearably patronizing but disturbingly handsome local vet, when she needs him? 

As the days tick down to Christmas, Charlie's life has never felt so out of control - but with some help from her new four-legged friends, she just might learn a thing or two about living in the moment, embracing the unexpected and opening herself up to love....

©2018 Natalie Cox (P)2018 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Fans of Bridget Jones's Diary and Confessions of a Shopaholic, rejoice! Natalie Cox's light and funny holiday romance features a protagonist who could go toe-to-toe with Bridget Jones or Becky Bloomwood...Throw in a pregnant beagle, a deaf Great Dane, a country vet with piercing blue eyes and an inappropriate Christmas jumper (sweater), and you've got a sweet, festive tale guaranteed to cheer all you Grinches. A Mutts sequel is on our holiday wish list for next year." (USA Today)

“Brimming with humor, Christmas cheer, and a few dogs (plus a litter of puppies), this offbeat romp sparkles with fun." (Library Journal

What listeners say about Mutts and Mistletoe

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent, enjoyable work from 1st-time author

What a great find! Fun, lighthearted book, well-written and performed. Entertaining, engaging, filled with quirky, interesting, believable (human) characters. Although Malcolm the Great Dane might be my favorite personality of all. I picked up the paperback in an airport and enjoyed it so much I found the audiobook here so I could enjoy it again. Can’t wait to hear more from this author. Definitely one of my favorites from this genre.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

More sophisticated & fun than silly cover sketch

Would never have chosen this book except one of the funniest and talented writers I've encountered, Sophie Kinsella recommended it when I was having a really hard time and needed some escape and uplifting. Not an avid dog lover, all Cox' canine characters won me over—no easy task! The inhabitants of this quaint small town drew me in and gave me a humorous sleigh ride away from my own seemingly unsolvable conundrums, far enough away to actually give me the needed perspective which remedied them. So much better did I feel after listening to Mutts and Mistletoe. Osmosis or just fun diversion from my life, it was just what I needed.

2 people found this helpful