• Mother Midnight

  • Hugh Corbett, Book 22
  • By: Paul Doherty
  • Narrated by: Richard Burnip
  • Length: 10 hrs and 5 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Paul Doherty's 22nd medieval mystery featuring Sir Hugh Corbett is a gripping and gruesome tale of murder and mayhem sure to appeal to fans of C. J. Sansom and Bernard Cornwell.

1312. Sir Hugh Corbett, Keeper of the Secret Seal, has returned from the West Country to find Westminster in chaos. Edward II has fled in an attempt to protect his favourite from the wrath of his noblemen, and a royal clerk has been found dead, poisoned in a locked chamber. 

Drawn into a maze of murder both at Westminster and at the Convent of Saint Sulpice, where young novices have started to disappear, Corbett quickly establishes a connection between the two mysteries. As other killings follow, Corbett's investigation leads him to a high-class brothel and its sinister owner, Mother Midnight. 

Challenged to a duel and hunted by a guild of ruthless assassins, Corbett and his loyal henchmen, Ranulf and Chanson, face a sea of troubles. And Corbett must call upon his wit and ingenuity to halt the tide of disaster that threatens to engulf him....

©2021 Paul Doherty (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

More from the same

What listeners say about Mother Midnight

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

Books by Paul Doherty are great medieval mysteries. This book really gives you an idea of how tough life was in these days.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. P. Hoggan
  • Mr. P. Hoggan
  • 06-19-22

Another classic tale!

As always, a well thought and well told tale of medieval murder and mystery. The excellent Hugh Corbett supported by his clerks, delving into murderous deeds of the great and the good! His character development is brilliant and how he melds the story into the factual life of medieval England makes it all come to life. All Paul Doherty's characters, Hugh Corbett, Athelstan are well created and believeable. Would love to hear some of Amerotke's tales from ancient Egypt on Audible as well?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kimmsie
  • Kimmsie
  • 01-17-22

Another great book

The only disappointment for me was that this book still didn't follow-on from Devil's Wolf. At the end of that particular book we heard a conversation between two mysterious men who were discussing what they were going to do about Sir Hugh Corbett and one said "In London, we'll get him in London". Okay, so Sir Hugh has been in Wales and in Cornwall since then, but this book is based in London and there was no sign or even a mention of any mysterious person or group. No shadows in the darkness following our intrepid duo and now I'm on tenterhooks waiting for something to happen. Other than that, this book was great. We even saw some emotion from Sir Hugh Corbett! Obviously he does have emotions, he just hides them well. Even from the readers!