Your audiobook is waiting…

Masters of Fate

Dark Stars Trilogy, Book 3
Narrated by: Kristin James
Series: Dark Stars Series, Book 3
Length: 8 hrs and 55 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The final fight will change their perception forever.

Everything Elle Hartmut and her friends thought they knew about the alien menace - and the nature of their universe - is wrong.

With mounting evidence that the aliens behind the Darkness reside on a hyperdimensional plane above space-time, Elle and the Dark Sentinels will need a new approach to win. However, preventing the impending alien invasion will test their team in ways they never imagined.

The ancient artifacts wielded by the Dark Sentinels may hold the key to victory. If they can understand and master their true abilities, they may still be able to save the Hegemony and their loved ones before the invasion’s final stage consumes them all.

The Dark Stars trilogy combines high-tech sci-fi with traditional fantasy magic, perfect for fans of Final Fantasy, Star Ocean, and Xenosaga. Join Elle in her final battle against the Darkness!

©2018 A.K. DuBoff (P)2018 A.K. DuBoff

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful Series

This is the best sci-fi series I've read in a long time. The Narrator also does a wonderful job at bringing each character to life with stunning voices. Defiantly Recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An unbelievable finish to such a wonderful space o

I absolutely loved this story from the incomparable Amy Duboff, she delivers yet again with a finish to be gloried in! I'm trying not to include spoilers! The narrator was fantastic for this book, she so brought the characters to life after reading it. To yet again, have a few individuals come together as one, to save the known world. How Amy built upon their characters as well as the new world she developed. I engaged my suspension of disbelief and through myself fully into this wonderfully tied together piece of literature. This is my second read & listen through this trilogy. I loved the piece with the DUZE's,! The end which I will not give away, was astonishing. There is a smidgen of possibility to do a novella or follow up, but I think some stories should be left to stand on their own last it degrade the originals. Amy is wonderful at world building, especially within her Cadicle World, if you haven't read them you must catch them to admire this rising stars ability in the space opera genre....

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Epic conclusion to an epic series!

I absolutely loved the first two books, and this one keeps up with the action, great characters, and super-imaginative world. Here, we're following the Dark Sentinel team to the endgame, and it's one trippy ride, with other dimensions and other-dimensional beings (and one that just made me grin so huge, but I won't spoil the surprise!). A large portion of the middle reminded me of the days first discovering Madeleine L'Engle's Time Quintet, in the best possible way. This book is just full of wonder and magic and twists on reality that will keep you guessing. And puns! Epic use of puns.

I loved the ending, too--it hit every right note and was so, so satisfying. So great to see a great finish to a great story.

As always, the narration was fantastic, too.

If you're looking for an epic and unusual read, I highly recommend this series!

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TU
  • 01-28-19

fantastic finish to the trilogy, still want more!

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

As with the first two books, this was a fantastic sci fi story full of colorful characters, exciting action and vivid world building. The narration is similarly well done and really helps bring the story to life. I'm finding, as I write this, that I'm a little bummed this trilogy is over. I hope there is a spin off or something. This is a dynamic duo that really should work together again.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jayde
  • Nampa, ID
  • 12-27-18

Great ending to a great trilogy

Really enjoyed this trilogy. Would classify this as a "Space Opera" and likely more for a young adult audience. That does not change the fact that it has a good story line with good pacing. It has a female in the lead role and is mostly from her point of view.
This third book in the trilogy does an excellent job bringing the story to a logical close while still being as exciting and fast paced as the first two books. And I could easily see the adventures of this group continue in further volumes.

Kristin James did an excellent job narrating this trilogy. I would be more likely to try a new author that was narrated by Kristin after having listened to her here.

I was given this free review copy audiobook by the author and have voluntarily left this review.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Graeme T. Neil
  • Graeme T. Neil
  • 07-10-19

Excellent third part

Third part is everything I anticipated
Series is much better than the first part suggested