Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $26.22

Buy for $26.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Free-spirited Marabel must defy expectations to rescue her brother - and their kingdom - in this charming, action-packed, and magical story perfect for fans of Ella Enchanted and Dealing with Dragons.

In Magikos, life is dictated by the Book of Fate's ancient predictions, including the birth of a royal Chosen One who will save the realm. Princess Marabel has grown up in the shadow of her twin brother, Marco, who everyone assumes is the true Chosen One. While Marco is adored and given every opportunity, Marabel is overlooked and has to practice her sword fighting in secret.

But on the night of their 13th birthday, Marco is kidnapped by an evil queen, and Marabel runs to his rescue. Outside the castle walls for the first time, accompanied by her best friend and a very smug unicorn, Marabel embarks on a daring mission that brings her face-to-face with fairies, trolls, giants - and the possibility that all is not as it seems in Magikos.

©2018 Tracy Barrett (P)2018 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"...a neat addition to any fantasy-fan's library." (Booklist)

"Young readers will enjoy the modern day references, such as a video game called Impcraft and bracelets that accept phone calls, that are mixed with common fairy tale themes." (School Library Connection)

"[A] series opener that pits fate against free will, touches on prejudice and patriarchy, and has fun with fairy tale tropes...offers food for thought on an array of valuable topics." (Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about Marabel and the Book of Fate

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

All in all a fun read. Would definitely recommend

Marabel comes off as ur generic rebellious princess at first glance, but the book pleasantly subverts that trope along with other ones. The ending was a bit anticlimactic but all in all, the story is a cute, fun lighthearted adventure and you can't ask for more than that, really.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Decent MG story

Listened to this book with my daughters, ages 10 and 8. They enjoyed the story a great deal. Overall, Ms. Morris did an excellent job of portraying the characters. I found the main characters amusing and enjoyable, but the setting was such an odd mix of fantasy and modern world that I just couldn't feel immersed in it, and I kept getting pulled out of the story. Kids will enjoy the quirky characters and spunky, strong heroine, and they'll find the mix of modern and fantasy amusing. Adults, maybe not so much.