Regular price: $21.32

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Mo Hayder, Liar Liar showcases all the hallmarks of Arlidge's taut and rapid-fire writing, including his protagonist, DI Helen Grace, and the Southampton-based team.

Faced with yet another ruthless serial killer, one with a penchant for pyromania, DI Helen Grace is an unwilling participant in a race against this new sadistic combatant.

©2015 Penguin Books Ltd (P)2015 Penguin Books Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love DI Helen Grace

Great author, good series, authentic narrator does a really good job! Downloading book five now!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Susan Random
  • 06-18-17

Liar Liar

Oh my word, how I'm lapping up all of the Helen Grace novels one by one. This particular tome, concerning a spate of arson attacks across Southampton is compelling, yet rather unbelievable at the same time. Wouldn't DI Grace's body have been destroyed by now after she's seriously assaulted by pretty much every one of her suspects? Also, is the sleepy south coast port turning into Midsomer County?

Anyhoo ... I think that I'll give the series a bit of a rest for now.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gary Thirkell
  • 11-16-15

Helen Grace - the rebus of a new generation. Great narration from Elizabeth bowers

Love the Helen grace franchise. Flawed but lovable.
Great narration as well.
Can't wait for the next instalment. Charlie developing into a character as well as Helens sidekick

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Robert
  • 02-24-16

Helen Grace continues to be of interest

Would you listen to Liar Liar again? Why?

I would not listen to Liar Liar again because I do not think it has any hidden depths - however, for me, that is not the point: it is an entertaining listen the first time around and it held my attention throughout.

What did you like best about this story?

I liked that it dealt with an aspect of crime fiction I was not familiar with, namely arson, in an interesting way.

Have you listened to any of Elizabeth Bower’s other performances? How does this one compare?

The narration by Elizabeth Bower was consistently good throughout and just as good as in her other contributions to the Helen Grace books.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No - I tend to listen to audible books while I am washing up. This is the kind of book one can 'put down and pick up' and very quickly get back into the story again.

Any additional comments?

I am looking forward to listening to the next instalment of the Helen Grace books, as she is an interesting character and I am curious to find out how her relationship with her new boss progresses (especially as he has more than a professional interest in her).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Roy
  • 12-02-15

When is the next due?

What made the experience of listening to Liar Liar the most enjoyable?

I think the narrator really brings these stories to life. You get a real sense for how the characters are feeling.

What did you like best about this story?

Slightly less gruesome than the earlier DI Grace stories, it's nice to see things taking a slightly different direction.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

None particularly stand out, I enjoyed it all!

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

No - the book starts strongly and this continues throughout.

Any additional comments?

Can't wait until the next in the series!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jackie
  • 10-21-15

Gripping!

If you could sum up Liar Liar in three words, what would they be?

Fast paced action!

What did you like best about this story?

The characters are so human.

What does Elizabeth Bower bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Love her reading style and accents.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Gasp!

Any additional comments?

This is book 4 of the series and thoroughly enjoyed all of them. All very compelling, lots of interesting characters and superb narration.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sophia C.
  • 09-28-17

Least enjoyable Arlidge so far.

I did enjoy this book and following the stories of Charlie and Helen and the team. However, I think this was the least enjoyable, just not as gripping storyline.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jamtart
  • 08-11-17

another non stop thriller

4th in the series and it just keeps on getting better. More twists and turns has yet again got me screaming and gasping at the speaker. Another good read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • i_hawk
  • 07-18-17

Another great listen

Really good listen, with Helen Grace really pulling me in as a flawed but brilliant detective. Look forward to the next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • a white
  • 09-11-16

Brilliantly narrated

A fantastic, gripping story beautifully narrated by Elizabeth Bower who has a silky, expressive voice that always reaches the right pitch, tone , accent etc

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • F. McKee
  • 04-13-16

Not the best Helen Grace novel...

This one had a few more holes in the plot than previous Helen Grace books, which left me feeling a bit disappointed.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kathy Burns
  • 07-25-18

Great book of sound quality

Liked the book. Definitely a page turner with a strong storyline which was very exciting.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jeanette NORMAN
  • 04-02-16

I can recommend this book as it is a solid story.

Really enjoyed this book. I am a reader of "who done it" stories and found this one very entertaining. Not sure why it is that many so called successful DI female characters have such "black" personal issues butvthey do thrive in this book.