Regular price: $24.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For every woman who has ever fantasized about driving past her exit on the highway instead of going home to make dinner, for every woman who has ever dreamed of boarding a train to a place where no one needs constant attention - meet Maribeth Klein, a harried working mother who's so busy taking care of her husband and twins, she doesn't even realize she's had a heart attack.

Afterward, surprised to discover that her recuperation seems to be an imposition on those who rely on her, Maribeth does the unthinkable: She packs a bag and leaves. But, as is so often the case, once she gets to where she's going, she sees her life from a different perspective. Far from the demands of family and career, and with the help of liberating new friendships, Maribeth is finally able to own up to secrets she has been keeping from those she loves - and from herself.

With big-hearted characters who stumble and trip, grow and forgive, Leave Me is about facing our fears. Gayle Forman, a dazzling observer of human nature, has written an irresistible novel that confronts the ambivalence of modern motherhood head-on.

©2016 Gayle Forman (P)2016 Recorded Books

Critic Reviews

"Eva Kaminsky's narration is at once uniquely emotional and quietly familiar.... Each character in this novel has his or her own voice, thanks to Kaminsky's skill. Personalities emerge with nuances of timbre and tone.... Listeners will be reluctant to leave." ( AudioFile)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    393
  • 4 Stars
    365
  • 3 Stars
    197
  • 2 Stars
    50
  • 1 Stars
    25

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    526
  • 4 Stars
    269
  • 3 Stars
    103
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    11

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    342
  • 4 Stars
    315
  • 3 Stars
    190
  • 2 Stars
    59
  • 1 Stars
    26
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I used to love this author.

She does a great job of keeping my interest, but this story never took off. It didn't 'go' anywhere. Pretty disappointing.

24 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Great narrator, weak story

I love this author's young adult books. But she doesn't translate as well into adult fiction. The story was weak and the main character so unsympathetic. Characters were contrived. Narrator was outstanding.

29 of 33 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Emotional, Satisfying, All the Feels

Gayle Forman is one of my favorite YA authors, and so I was thrilled to see her make her Adult debut with Leave Me. She brings “all the feels” we’ve come to expect from her work in this new venture. Leave Me centers around an overworked magazine editor/wife/mom who takes drastic measures to reclaim her life when she has a heart attack at 44. She picks up and leaves everyone behind to take charge of her own recovery when she can’t get a break at home.

Maribeth works full-time at her lifestyle magazine job, manages the household and takes charge of her preschool-age twins. Her husband works long hours and assumes a less active role at home. When Maribeth has a sudden heart attack, the pieces of their lives start to unravel. Husband Jason enlists Maribeth’s mother to help pick up the slack, but she is not as supportive to Maribeth or her family as she could be. When a lice outbreak strikes both twins at once, Maribeth has had enough.She leaves everything behind to take charge of her recovery.

Forman makes Maribeth’s story so relatable with showing the exhaustion and stresses of trying to do it all. It’s hard to imagine leaving your kids behind but given her situation it didn’t seem that she had much choice. Maribeth’s story of self-discovery is fulfilling and satisfying and felt very real but still like an escape.

Eva Kaminsky is a new-to-me narrator, and she is a good fit for Leave Me. She conveyed the stresses in Maribeth’s life well so it was easy to understand Maribeth’s desire to leave for some much-needed R&R. Kaminsky’s voice lent the appropriate emotional tone for this journey and made each character sound distinct. I did speed up the pace to 1.5x to better suit my taste and that worked well. This is an audiobook I didn’t want to put down.

Fans of Forman’s YA books should give this one a try, and also recommended for readers of authors like Karma Brown and Taylor Jenkins Reid.

26 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

That Ending???

All I can say is I hope that there is a second part of this book. So many questions :(

15 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Heart attack causes self absorbed regression!

Unlike some of the reviews, I finished the whole thing. It only got worse. Parenthood's middle name is sacrifice, which Mary Beth seemed to forget. I can understand burnout, but this was irritating, not sympathy inducing. The ending was rushed. Just take a pass. Go find a better book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

This should probably be categorized as a beach read

The first part of the book I could really feel her frustration. Most women experience exactly what she's talking about. You don't need twins for that. It kind of fell apart in the middle when she took off with half the savings. Did she really think that was going to solve her problems? Was she not going to get a job if this was the path she was going to take? This was a pretty drastic step for 'me' time. The ending seemed kind of abrupt, but I guess this is actually a chick lit type book so that is to be expected. Fortunately it was the deal of the day and not a waste of credit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful read!

This book draws you in quickly with it's twists and turns but you'll like it... I promise. The subject is fascinating and I really did want to see what is the outcome.
I did question some of her moves but I don't know what I would do in that situation (not a mother myself). It was a touching book and really fast read.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah
  • Florida, USA
  • 01-12-17

Disliked main character

The only reason I finished this book was because it was a book club pick. The main character is annoying and self-important. I could not see her point of view, which was either due to lack of explanation by the author or my own inability to get past the fact that she just left her kids. Either way; get over yourself Maribeth.

24 of 35 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Takes you away

Almost takes you away into a daydream! its a story that not many woman would do or even admit to wanting to do but maybe theres a little bit of this story in all of us! my first read from audible and I was hooked! A great story a great performance overall deffinitly worth all 5 stars!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Lacking

I liked the narrator and found elements of the story interesting/ relatable. But overall I struggled to accept how one- dimensional the characters were and how unlikely a devoted mom would be to leave her two children. The ending was absolutely unsatisfying.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful