Regular price: $29.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the fifth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.

Lord Fredrick Ashton may not feel ready to be a father, but with a little Ashton on the way he's sure about one thing: The wolfish curse on his family must end soon, before the child is born. Penelope willingly takes on the challenge; when Lady Constance's doctor prescribes a seaside holiday, Penelope jumps at the chance to take the three Incorrigible children to Brighton, where she hopes to persuade the old sailor Pudge to reveal what he knows about the Ashton curse.

But the Ashtons are not the only ones at the beach in January. The passionately temperamental Babushkinov family is also taking the winter waters. The Incorrigible children may have been raised by wolves, but the Babushkinov children are the wildest creatures they've ever seen. Is it more than mere coincidence that these untamed children have turned up in Brighton just as Penelope and the Incorrigibles arrive?

©2015 Maryrose Wood (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    201
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    203
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    179
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Wayne
  • Matthews, NC
  • 12-13-17

Cliffhanger ending; last book release 6/19/2018!

For those who are listening to this series, I recommend that you wait until closer to the June 19, 2018 release of the series finale due to the cliffhanger finish of Book V. I wish I had!

I love this audio book series and recommend it for everyone ages 4 to 110. The series is fabulous! The narration, more precisely the performance, is by Katherine Kellgren who is without peer in the performance of audio books. Both author Maryrose Wood and narrator Katherine Kellgren are Americans, but the series is set in Victorian England and the narration is with English accents.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Another AMAZING story

What did you love best about The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V?

Great continuation of the series, wonderful characters and excellent humor

What does Katherine Kellgren bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Oh MY! I have never heard a reader like Katherine Kellgren! She brings life and a fullness to the characters that makes me feel as if I am right inside the story.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Both!

Any additional comments?

Another AMAZING story - looking forward to the next one

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Joy Lewis
  • Menasha, WI United States
  • 04-30-15

Surprises

I can't believe the ending. The series has been full of twists and turns but I was shocked by the way this book ended.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Too much squelch, not enough story

The sound screeches loud, then quiet CONSTANTLY. Even in the car, with the volume control in easy reach, it is incredibly annoying to have to turn the volume down and up over and over for hours on end. Five books into this series and not enough has happened. Excessive, useless details do not make for a story, only for too many pages to plod through before getting a nugget of story. I regret the hours we spent with annoying uneven sound engineering.

  • Overall

HALF GOOD HALF BAD

I loved all the mystery and everything but one I'm ANGRY about. Anyway it was Great.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Story is great - voice gets a bit screechy at times.

We love the story and will listen to the last book. At times though the voice is screechy for so long that we have to take a break. If we could change that one thing we would have devoured the book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Three Cheers for the Incorrigibles!

I love hearing about the adventures of the Incorrigibles, Penelope, and the Ashton's. I can't wait for book 6 to be available. The narrator makes a fun story even more fun to listen to.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A change...

The only performance issue was Margaret's voice in the beginning is so high and squeaky it's ear piercing. Other than that change, great work!

  • Overall

Good, but not as good as before

The first time I listened to this audiobook, I absolutely hated it (you maybe have seen my previous review). But then I gave it second chance, and it was really good! I still have a few problems with it, but not nearly as many. And added to that, the first 30% or so was just as totally wonderful as the first four (all of which I LOVED).

Very good, but with an emphasis on GOOD.

I will, however, warn you that the sequel to this drastic cliffhanger has not yet come out.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

be prepared for the end. Katherine is fabulous!

after sitting through five of these books with no number 6 I was sadly disappointed in the sad ending