Regular price: $32.20

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Ink heart, and The Books of Elsewhere.

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That - along with everything else - changed the day she met her first fairy.

When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon - an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.

It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

©2014 Django Wexler (P)2015 Listening Library

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

My Kids Loved It

They immediately asked why it had to end and were thrilled when I told them there is a second book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Confusing

it was ok but nothing very exciting happened. Some parts were good but most of it was crap.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Forbidden Library #1

good story. It took me awhile to get thru it listening at night.
The narrator fid a nice job. I will get the next book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Prisoners in library books!

Interesting creatures and "library books". Wish there was someone to trust for the main character...maybe there is and she just doesn't know it yet. Sure there should be a sequel.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful