Regular price: $21.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos.

Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth - Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact the first male teacher in the history of the school.

But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.

In minutes that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

©2016 Richard Peck (P)2016 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Narrator Michael Crouch is a natural with kid voices.... Listeners will relate, whether they're all grown up or still growing." (AudioFile)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Refreshing story!

What a refreshing story and a great perspective to hear it from. A sad when the book was finally over.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

The Best Story

The Best Man is a sweet modern version of Happily Ever After! Michael Crouch's skillful heart felt rendering of the wonderful Archer and his world made me care about this unique cast of characters. The story is funny and sad and needs to be told.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Relationship OVER Orientation

The relationship the main character has with his uncle goes beyond the uncle's orientation. He learns respect, trust, and confidence from him, as well as how to be there when it counts. I hope my daughter has the same relationship with her Guncle as she grows up!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful