Regular price: $29.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and Crunch, comes a soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me.

Eleven-year-old Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truth - and Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home.

When Perry moves to the outside world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from...but can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means?

©2016 Leslie Connor (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KB
  • 11-13-17

Fun and Inspiring

This was a fantastic book! The narrators did a wonderful job of capturing the voices of Perry and Jessica, and drawing me in to the story. I kept finding things to do around the house so I could continue to listen! I loved the journey of Perry in discovering his (and his mother's) pasts. And Connor did a great job in writing the villain. Stepdad Tom was the quintessential condescending adult, but he also had heart and had redeeming qualities. The listening experience on this one was fun, especially since it was so much based on auditory storytelling among the inmates, and the narrators did a good job with the voices. Highly Recommended.
Audible 20 Review Sweepstakes Entry

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent lesson in life!

Michael Crouch skillfully and lovingly voiced each character especially the honorable Perry Cook. This wonderful book gives us unique very human people in an unusual situation , and challenges us not to judge a book by its cover.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

Couldn’t wait to start listening everyday! Amazing story! Excellent story and wonderfully performed.
Well worth the purchase.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

4.5 stars. Wonderful, beautiful, and touching. I was so drawn in by the characters and the storyline that I was genuinely angry and indignant at the antagonist, who was not just some “bad guy,” but rather a well-meaning, misguided man whose good intentions cause more harm than good. Highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Feel Good Amazing!

such an amazing story. Could not put it down. Ends and I want to know more about Perry and Jessica.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding production

I can't think of anything to criticize about this audiobook. As a native Nebraskan, I appreciate the pitch-perfect narration and characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

really good for middle School readers

I loved this book it really caught my attention. My love for this book's enormous.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

incredible!

an excellent start on destigmatizing prisons & their residents to the masses. if only prisons were like blue river, we'd all be the better off for it...

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • KFO
  • Lake Forest, IL
  • 03-12-18

So disappointing but also pretty good at some points

I was waiting to know what happened but the same time I wasn’t exited to figure out what would happen

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ms. R. Wharrier
  • 06-27-17

This book would make a lovely film

Downloaded this book because I really like Kate Mcineeney's voice so I download any that she's made. I didn't even notice it was a children's book but it was lovely I really enjoyed it. It would make a wonderful film.