Your audiobook is waiting…

Just Like Jackie

Narrated by: Cassandra Morris
Length: 5 hrs and 26 mins
5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Family is family, no matter what it looks like. Listeners will cheer for this pitch-perfect story, just right for fans of such books as The Great Gilly Hopkins and Fish in a Tree.

For as long as Robinson Hart can remember, it's just been her and Grandpa. He taught her about cars, baseball, and everything else worth knowing. But Grandpa's memory has been getting bad - so bad that he sometimes can't even remember Robbie's name.

She's sure she's making things worse by getting in trouble at school, but she can't resist using her fists when bullies like Alex Carter make fun of her for not having a mom.

Now, she's stuck in group guidance - and to make things even worse, Alex Carter is there, too. There's no way Robbie's going to open up about her life to some therapy group, especially not with Alex in the room. Besides, if she told anyone how forgetful Grandpa's been getting lately, they'd take her away from him. He's the only family she has - and it's up to her to keep them together, no matter what.

Praise for Just Like Jackie:

"I was truly moved by this refreshing story about a scrappy young heroine and her struggle to protect her family." (Sara Pennypacker, New York Times best-selling author of Pax)

"Just Like Jackie is a lovely story of acceptance - about what makes a family and how we make our own families, and about embracing our differences." (Ann M. Martin, New York Times best-selling author of Rain Reign)

"Stoddard debuts with a quiet but powerful narrative that gently unpacks Alzheimer's, centers mental health, and moves through the intimate and intense emotional landscape of family - what seems to break one and what can remake it. Validating, heart-rending, and a deft blend of suffering and inspiration." (Kirkus Reviews)

©2018 Lindsey Stoddard (P)2019 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"A home-run story that will resonate with all who feel they might not fit into the perfect definition of a family." (School Library Journal)

"Debut author Stoddard crafts a winning narrator in Robinson. A beautiful story about the true meaning of family, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt." (Booklist)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0