It's the End of the World as I Know It

Narrated by: Matt Godfrey
Length: 5 hrs and 18 mins
Categories: Teens, Ages 11-13
5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Derrick is sure that doomsday is coming, and he's prepping to survive - whether his friends believe him or not - in this middle-grade novel for fans of Gary Schmidt, Gordon Korman, and Jack Gantos.

Ever since his mother was killed in the line of duty in Iraq, Derrick has been absolutely certain that the apocalypse is coming. And he's prepared: he's got plenty of canned goods, he's fully outfitted with HAZMAT suits, and he's building himself a sturdy fallout shelter. When his neighbor Misty insists on helping with the shelter, Derrick doesn't think it's such a good idea. Misty's just had a kidney transplant, and her reaction to her brush with death is the opposite of Derrick's: where Derrick wants to hide, Misty wants to see and do everything. But as confident as Misty is, Derrick's doomsday fears just keep getting worse. When Derrick's promised apocalypse day begins with a very strange disaster, Derrick and Misty have to figure out a way to survive - especially when the end of the world as they know it looks nothing like they expected.

©2019 Matthew Landis (P)2019 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing! A must read!

This is an amazing and inspirational book. I highly recommend this book for any student in grades 4 and up and all adults! It was funny, sad at times, and inspiring! The story flowed well and had a great pace.

1 person found this helpful