It Sounded Better in My Head

Narrated by: Katherine Littrell
Length: 7 hrs and 19 mins
5.0 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.49

Buy for $24.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From debut author Nina Kenwood comes a tender and funny audiobook about first love and its confusions, and all of the awkwardness of teen romance.

When her parents announce their impending divorce, Natalie can't understand why no one is fighting, or at least mildly upset. Then Zach and Lucy, her two best friends, hook up, leaving her feeling slightly miffed and decidedly awkward. She'd always imagined she would end up with Zach one day - in the version of her life that played out like a TV show, with just the right amount of banter, pining, and meaningful looks. Now everything has changed, and nothing is quite making sense. Until an unexpected romance comes along and shakes things up even further.

It Sounded Better in My Head is a compulsively listenable love letter to teenage romance in all of its awkward glory, perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved Before and Emergency Contact

A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books

"With candor and affection, It Sounded Better in My Head captures a teenager navigating the final moments of one stage of life and the first moments of the next." (BookPage)

©2020 Nina Kenwood (P)2020 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"I am all-caps OBSESSED with this achingly insightful, utterly charming, beautiful heart-punch of a book. Instant favorite." (Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda)

"I love, love, loved it." (Melina Marchetta, author of Jellicoe Road)

"Nina Kenwood has created nuanced and authentic characters, each caught up in their trajectory toward adulthood...a gorgeous and funny coming-of-age novel that perfectly captures the awkward, liminal nature of adolescence." (Books + Publishing starred review)

What listeners say about It Sounded Better in My Head

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.