Sample
  • Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting

  • A Novel
  • By: Clare Pooley
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
  • Length: 8 hrs and 38 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (804 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting  By  cover art

Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting

By: Clare Pooley
Narrated by: Clare Corbett
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.00

Buy for $18.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

Nobody ever talks to strangers on the train. It’s a rule. But what would happen if they did? From the New York Times and Globe and Mail bestselling author of The Authenticity Project, a heartwarming novel about unexpected friendships and the joy of connecting.

Every day Iona, a larger-than-life magazine advice columnist, travels the ten stops from Hampton Court to Waterloo Station by train, accompanied by her dog, Lulu.

Every day she sees the same people, whom she knows only by nickname: Impossibly-Pretty-Constant-Reader and Terribly-Lonely-Teenager. Of course, they never speak. Seasoned commuters never do.

Then one morning, the man she calls Smart-But-Sexist-Manspreader chokes on a grape right in front of her. He’d have died were it not for the timely intervention of Sanjay, a nurse, who gives him the Heimlich maneuver.

This single event starts a chain reaction, and an eclectic group of people with almost nothing in common except their commute discover that a chance encounter can blossom into much more. It turns out that talking to strangers can teach you about the world around you—and even more about yourself.

©2022 Clare Pooley (P)2022 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

“A soothing story where bad things happen yet are overcome, and friendship leads the way to personal acceptance and rebirth.”
Kirkus

“Why don't I ever meet people this delightful on a train? This feel-good ensemble story will bring joy to readers who loved Anxious People and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine—not to mention fans of quirky London-set fare such as Ted Lasso. Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting is a warm, fun pick-me-up of a book.” —Mary Laura Philpott, bestselling author of I Miss You When I Blink and Bomb Shelter

“Pooley's grasp on the constraints and longings of the human condition proves immensely entertaining. Readers will be charmed by this uplifting, hopeful story rife with tender insights. Traveling with Iona Iverson is a literary journey well worth taking!” —Shelf Awareness

What listeners say about Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    603
  • 4 Stars
    165
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    627
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    537
  • 4 Stars
    147
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall