adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.09

Buy for $30.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A clear-eyed and compassionate memoir of the Appalachian experience by a woman who embraced its astonishing beauty, narrowly escaped its violence, and struggles to call it home.

Bobi Conn was raised in a remote Kentucky holler in 1980s Appalachia. She remembers her tin-roofed house tucked away in a vast forest paradise; the sparkling creeks, with their frogs and crawdads; the sweet blackberries growing along the road to her granny’s; and her abusive father, an underemployed alcoholic whose untethered rage and violence against Bobi and her mother were frighteningly typical of a community marginalized, desperate, and ignored. Bobi’s rule of survival: always be vigilant but endure it silently.

Slipping away from home, Bobi went to college and got a white-collar job. Mistrusted by her family for her progress and condescended to by peers for her accent and her history, she was followed by the markers of her class. Though she carried her childhood self everywhere, Bobi also finally found her voice.

An elegiac account of survival despite being born poor, female, and cloistered, Bobi’s testament is one of hope for all vulnerable populations, particularly women and girls caught in the cycle of poverty and abuse. On a continual path to worth, autonomy, and reinvention, Conn proves here that "the storyteller is the one with the power."

©2020 by Bobi Conn. (P)2019 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

What listeners say about In the Shadow of the Valley

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    116
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Hard Pass

I was hoping this would be in the vein of Hillbilly Elegy or Educated but this was more a monotonous recounting of poverty, poor decisions, and petty complaints. There's little self-reflection from the author and while the themes are universal and especially timely, she fails to connect her story to any larger picture. What results reads like the personal journals of a self involved teenager who wonders why she is continually the victim.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartbreaking and inspiring

Yes, your story is worth sharing. Thank you for allowing others a glimpse into the shadows. May your bravery serve as a tool to empower others like you, like me.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t get through it

I found this book to be one long self pitying rant. While a lot of detail was given about the characters, it was very superficial. I skipped to the end and when the author admitted she filled a prescription of OxyContin for her son, while, at the same time, trying to be self-righteous, I nearly screamed.
The depressed monotone narration is too much. Ugh. Get over it, you aren’t the only person who had a sh*t childhood.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Miserable

From the droning, depressive delivery of the author, to the hopelessness of every fact of her life, this story was unbearable. I had a similar painful childhood, but I choose to trust God--I choose hope. I listened for about an hour and had so much anxiety from the constant misery of her story, that I had to trade it in and shake this off.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Poignant, devoid of pretension

If you have ever wondered what's beneath so many stereotypes about Appalachia, what it's like to feel a prisoner in your body or your culture, or want a glimpse into the complex power dynamic between women and men when resources are scarce (and love truly is a four-letter word), this book is for you. But those are only pieces and moments, small parts of a bigger, more important story. About poverty and resilience and legacies untold. This memoir, brilliantly and patiently articulated by the author herself, is a trip to the hollers of Kentucky. A rich history, a humble truth. It's an epic prose poem of pain, salvation, triumph, and self-awareness. It cuts deep, is poignant, and wholly devoid of pretension.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a real understanding of KY backwoods life

one of the best books I've heard in a long while...but I could identity with her childhood most people can not....

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

really good book

It's a very simple story but heart-wrenching and captivating. The author's reading was perfectly emotionless yet full of emotion.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Heart -Wrenching

Admired the character of the story because of her determination to change the course of her life.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Speechless!!!

And if you know me... well not saying something is a lot. This is great look into the world that is Appalachia. Breath taking as well. The hero's journey, The voice acting isn't acting, I could fell the weight of the word, and the heart behind them!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator is not very exciting, good story

I loved the story. A picture of what “normal” was for her, and the challenges she faced. She’s obviously not a professional narrator/dramatizer. It was still fairly easy to listen to. She divides the book into topics, so each chapter covers various parts of her life and the challenges that relate to that topic. In found this book enlightening and inspiring.