Sample
  • In Five Years

  • A Novel
  • By: Rebecca Serle
  • Narrated by: Megan Hilty
  • Length: 6 hrs and 44 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (11,450 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
In Five Years  By  cover art

In Five Years

By: Rebecca Serle
Narrated by: Megan Hilty
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $14.99

Buy for $14.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

A New York Times best seller.

A Good Morning America, FabFitFun, and Marie Claire Book Club pick

In Five Years is as clever as it is moving, the rare read-in-one-sitting novel you won’t forget.” (Chloe Benjamin, New York Times best-selling author of The Immortalists)

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day - a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Dannie Kohan lives her life by the numbers. She is nothing like her lifelong best friend - the wild, whimsical, believes-in-fate Bella. Her meticulous planning seems to have paid off after she nails the most important job interview of her career and accepts her boyfriend’s marriage proposal in one fell swoop, falling asleep completely content.

But when she awakens, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. Dannie spends one hour exactly five years in the future before she wakes again in her own home on the brink of midnight - but it is one hour she cannot shake.

In Five Years is an unforgettable love story, but it is not the one you’re expecting.

©2020 Rebecca Serle (P)2020 Simon & Schuster

Featured Article: 10 Outstanding Contemporary Fiction Authors for Fans of Nicholas Sparks


Nicholas Sparks is a bestselling and widely beloved author of contemporary fiction—23 novels and counting! His stories about complicated relationships, unexpected love, loss, sacrifice, and rediscovery are written in a descriptive, emotional, and earnest style. There’s no other author exactly like Sparks, but if you’ve already made your way through his catalog and you’re looking for more listens of similar appeal, here are 10 other fiction authors you might enjoy.

Editor's Pick

Only time will tell
"What would you do if you had a glimpse into your future and nothing was as it should be? In Rebecca Serle’s latest novel we meet Dannie Kohan, a woman who has it all together: the high-powered job, the doting boyfriend, and the locked-in future. That is, until she falls asleep and wakes up in an entirely altered existence, with a different man, and a life that she did not plan fastidiously for. From the moment you lay ears on this one you’re hooked. Voiced by Megan Hilty (#smash4eva), Dannie’s spirit is perfectly embodied. You hear her calm assuredness alongside the intensity and desire of someone who didn’t know they were lost until they were found. I caught myself holding my breath several times as she recounts the tension of idling through status quo days and ruminating on this alternate reality she can’t shake and its implications. Cancel your plans for the weekend when you press play on this one, as you won’t be able to pause this unexpected, heartbreaking love story." —Kelley S., Audible Editor