If You Love Me

A Mother's Journey Through Her Daughter's Opioid Addiction
Narrated by: Maureen Cavanagh
Length: 5 hrs and 56 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (146 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

This program is read by the author.

Maureen Cavanagh’s gripping audiobook memoir is the story of a mother who suddenly finds herself on the frontlines of the opioid epidemic as her daughter battles - and ultimately reckons with - substance use disorder.

Fast-paced and heartwarming, devastating and redemptive, Maureen’s incredible odyssey into the opioid crisis - first as a parent, then as an advocate - is ultimately a deeply moving mother-daughter story.

When Maureen and her ex-husband Mike see their daughter Katie’s needle track marks for the first time, it is a complete shock. But, slowly, the drug use explains everything - Katie’s constant exhaustion, erratic moods, and all those spoons that have gone missing from the house. Once Mike and Maureen get Katie into detox, Maureen goes to sleep that night hoping that in 48 hours she’ll have her daughter back. It’s not that simple.

Like the millions of parents and relatives all over the country - some of whom she has helped through her nonprofit organization - Maureen learns that recovery is neither straightforward nor brief. She fights to save Katie’s life, breaking down doors on the seedy side of town with Mike, kidnapping Katie outside a convenience store, and battling the taboo around substance use disorder in her picturesque New England town. Maureen is launched into the shadowy world of overcrowded, for-profit rehabilitation centers that often prey on worried parents.

As Katie runs away from one program after another, never outrunning her pain, Maureen realizes that even while she becomes an expert on getting countless men and women into detox and treatment centers, she remains powerless to save her own daughter. If You Love Me: A Mother's Journey Through Her Daughter's Opioid Addiction brings the opioid crisis out of the shadows and into the house next door.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying PDF will be available in your Audible Library along with the audio. 

©2018 Maureen Cavanagh (P)2018 Macmillan Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    113
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    97
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Learned so much from this well written book

Hard to stop listening to this very sad difficult topic. However it did give me insight. I found it particularly helpful in explaining like Aids we need to handled as a disease. Lots to think about re: prevention.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Truth and love

I am a Katie. I cried over the honesty and I sent this book to my mother.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I cried, I laughed, beautiful book

This book brought me back to my own desperation with my sons addiction. Listening to the author tell the story was so emotional for me. I would listen as I ran and I didn’t want to stop my run so I could keep listening. Thank you for all you do. You are a talented writer and I hope this isn’t your only book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Inspirational Must Read

Hearing the story firsthand from the author you can hear the emotion in her story and in her voice in her life being a daughter in recovery for four and a half years I truly wish this book was available when my mom was going through the same thing back then any parent dealing with a child struggling with this disease needs to read this or listen to Maureen tell her story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Finally....Someone truly understands and wants to help!

I couldn’t quit listening to this amazing story of such truth, tragedy and self awareness. I couldn’t believe how close it comes to my story of my own Katiebug. It helped me to realize how I’m going to deal with her after her prison time is up. Never give up!! Never lose hope!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must-read for the parent of an addicted child

Maureen Cavanagh shares her and her daughter's journey through addiction. She honestly describes the pain and struggles that only a parent of a child suffering from addiction can know. The audio book is read by the author so you get a true insight into her personal experiences. She is somehow able to wonderfully mix compassion and humor to tell her story.
This glimpse into Maureen’s maternal “journey,” offers readers facing similar struggles in their families some useful information and, above all, the comfort of knowing that they are not alone.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely fantastic!

I normally read memoirs on addiction from the perspective of the individual experiencing the disease. This was the first I've read from the perspective of a parent, and it was fantastic. Raw and heartfelt, Cavanagh's writing is so compelling. I found myself tearing up and even laughing out loud at times. I also love that Cavanagh narrates the audiobook - it really makes a mother's journey more real.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Finally, an addiction book by Mom that tells full

Finally, a book about addiction that doesn't just scratch the surface! This story tells full story, including all the crazy things us addict's moms do & see throughout our horrible addiction journey with our children. And, as awful and difficult this journey is, Maureen keeps sense of humor which I really appreciated & enjoyed. I Listened to audiobook while commuting to work. i
I found myself hoping for traffic so I could continue listening. Thanks for telling full story!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So helpful

Thanku for sharing your story. You daughters situation sounds so similar to mine. I feel like I can move forward with love as we go through this. Than you so very much

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Truth About Addiction as only a parent could tell it

Having worked as a drug counselor, primarily for teens for most of my career I’m generally skeptical about tell all stories on the subject matter. Well thank you Maureen Cavanagh for your truth, your raw honesty and the sharing of your soul in book form.
Everyone can learn from your tale of the agonizing time you spent dealing with your daughter’s opiate addiction. I mean everyone. “If You Love Me” not only takes us on the journey of addiction but shows how one woman, a mom, does what she can to help her daughter, other people’s kids, other adults and herself. Some of it works and much of it doesn’t. This book reminded me of all we still have to learn. It also reinforced my truth that addiction is a disease and everyone struggling with this disease needs to be treated with humanity.

2 people found this helpful