Regular price: $18.89

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

This program is read by the author.

Maureen Cavanagh’s gripping audiobook memoir is the story of a mother who suddenly finds herself on the frontlines of the opioid epidemic as her daughter battles - and ultimately reckons with - substance use disorder.

Fast-paced and heartwarming, devastating and redemptive, Maureen’s incredible odyssey into the opioid crisis - first as a parent, then as an advocate - is ultimately a deeply moving mother-daughter story.

When Maureen and her ex-husband Mike see their daughter Katie’s needle track marks for the first time, it is a complete shock. But, slowly, the drug use explains everything - Katie’s constant exhaustion, erratic moods, and all those spoons that have gone missing from the house. Once Mike and Maureen get Katie into detox, Maureen goes to sleep that night hoping that in 48 hours she’ll have her daughter back. It’s not that simple.

Like the millions of parents and relatives all over the country - some of whom she has helped through her nonprofit organization - Maureen learns that recovery is neither straightforward nor brief. She fights to save Katie’s life, breaking down doors on the seedy side of town with Mike, kidnapping Katie outside a convenience store, and battling the taboo around substance use disorder in her picturesque New England town. Maureen is launched into the shadowy world of overcrowded, for-profit rehabilitation centers that often prey on worried parents.

As Katie runs away from one program after another, never outrunning her pain, Maureen realizes that even while she becomes an expert on getting countless men and women into detox and treatment centers, she remains powerless to save her own daughter. If You Love Me: A Mother's Journey Through Her Daughter's Opioid Addiction brings the opioid crisis out of the shadows and into the house next door.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying PDF will be available in your Audible Library along with the audio. 

©2018 Maureen Cavanagh (P)2018 Macmillan Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Learned so much from this well written book

Hard to stop listening to this very sad difficult topic. However it did give me insight. I found it particularly helpful in explaining like Aids we need to handled as a disease. Lots to think about re: prevention.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I could relate even though I don't have an addict

I loved this book. Great insight. I do not have an addicted child. I have a child with mental illness but there were things I could relate to and that were helpful to me in regard to knowing what is on your control and what is not. I myself am the addict. I never used heroin but I did become addicted to pain killers and was lucky to get help at that point. so do understand how it can snowball out of control. With help of meds I've not relapsed in 13 years. I'm grateful for this book. Thank u Maureen

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MP
  • 10-29-18

Beautiful & Real

Maureen did an excellent job of sharing the reality of what way too many of us can relate to & she did it with live & a touch of humor. Those two things that get many of us through each unbearable day at times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wow wow wow!

what a powerful listen.
the auther describes her harrowing journey with perfection.
there is nothing worse than seeing you child swallowed up to drugs yet her hope despair wisdom and understanding is written with great clarity.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazingly honest and eye opening!

This book opened my eyes to the heartbreaking journeys that many families face in the Opioid Crisis. As a mother I connected with her love for her child and as a social worker I was challenged by her fierce determination to change the stigma. I am so glad I read this book and had my thoughts and feelings challenged. Thank you Maureen for putting it all out there for others to start and understand.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You are not alone

This takes a realistic path through the eyes of the loved ones impacted by substance abuse. It helps really explain the feelings and misconceptions that this illness weaves into individuals and society in terms anyone can relate to and find solace, hope and understanding of the uselessness of blame and especially self-blame

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thank You for this book!

I can relate to Maureen’s struggles with her daughter . She is a wonderful role model , a very brave and courageous mother and person. Most of all I want to Thank her for giving so many listeners hope, and the message to never give up on those you love.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best addiction stories I've read

My heart breaks for Maureen and her beautiful daughter. Far too many times there is no happy ending to these stories. I respect and admire Mrs Cavanagh for giving it her best and for trying to help as many addicts, that want help, as she can. It's such an ugly disease (undeniably a disease) and so very few ever go on to live a life worth living. The book is very heart wrenching at times but it is told from a place of love and truth. A must read for anyone that's been touched by addiction in any way. Heck, it should be read by anyone who hasn't been affected by addiction too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this

I love this book! and hearing it on her voice was so much better..as a mother of a child who suffers this disease she shows what it's like for us as parents.