• History of France: Power Of The Crown

  • From Louis XIII to Louis XV
  • By: Charlotte Yong
  • Narrated by: Paul Spera
  • Length: 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 03-07-18
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Astorg Audio

Regular price: $3.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

This chapter of France's history is about Power Of The Crown: Richelieu's Administration, the War in Flanders and Italy, the Fronde, the Court of Anne of Austria, the Court of Louis XIV, France under Louis XIV, war in the Low Countries, the revocation of the Edict of Nantes, the war of the Palatinate, the war of the Succession in Spain, the peace of Utrecht, the Regency, the war of the Austrian Succession, the Seven Years' War, France under Louis XV, and the Reaction.    

Charlotte Mary Yonge was an English novelist and historian. Yonge's work was widely read and respected in the nineteenth century, and admired by many great writers like Lewis Carroll or George Eliot. She attached a lot of importance to the education of girls, and her work reflected the values and concerns of Anglo-Catholicism; she wrote many historical novels, for which she studied history in great detail.    

This audiobook, read by Paul Spera, is her retelling of the essential episodes that made France. Each historical event is replaced into context and presented in clear and easy-to-read snippets, so that younger and older readers can deepen their understanding of how modern France came to be and broaden their culture. This historical essays deals with France's earlier kings, the hundred years' war, the struggle with Burgundy, the Italian wars, the wars of religion, absolute monarchy, and the French Revolution.  

©2018 Compagnie du Savoir (P)2018 Astorg Audio

What members say

No Reviews are Available