Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It’s a beautiful day for a wedding. White roses scent the air and the summer sunlight streams in. A spoon chimes against a champagne flute and the room falls silent. And there he is - my husband - getting to his feet to propose a toast. He’s still handsome. His new wife is next to him, gazing upwards, oblivious.
 

I’m not supposed to be here. All these years in the same town and I had no idea until I saw his name on the seating plan. He lived with me, once. Loved me. Small-town memories are long, but the people in this room don’t want to remember.
 

They say the healing is in letting go, but after what he did, he needs to know we haven’t gone away just because he’s shut his eyes.
 

So I take Daisy by the hand and step forward from the shadows. He notices us and his eyes widen. The champagne glass falls from his hand and smashes. Then he sags forward, making a terrible sound - a sort of strangled scream....
 

A powerfully emotional novel with a dark secret at its heart. This family drama will keep you hooked until the very last chapter. Perfect for fans of The Silent Wife, Kate Hewitt, and Jodi Picoult. 

©2019 Ali Mercer (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about His Secret Family

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable family drama

A really enjoyable listen - I liked the various characters’ viewpoints, and loved the family dynamics. The narrator was excellent.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Pointless

You kept waiting for something to happen. This book went on and on and had no climax or real ending. Don’t waste your time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really loved this story. I even cried.

I thought it ended to quick. He should have had to answer for his actions!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Way to long

Although this was a pretty good story, it Went into so much detail you could probably take out two hours and have the same story. The ending was a big let down. I would say save your credit.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible....

I wasted 11 hours on this book... many storylines were started, but they were either forgotten or ended up being nothing.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pleun brevet
  • pleun brevet
  • 11-14-19

Soooooo sad

This story is so sad, nothing happy happens coz even the happy stuff was made sad. Narrator was also sad. If you're looking for a downer, this is your book! Otherwise steer clear!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mini Ward
  • Mini Ward
  • 02-26-20

His secret family. By Ali Mercer

His secret family. By Ali Mercer. I Really disliked the whole book and didn’t even like the narrator either. By the end of it I was so bored that I couldn’t even cared less about any of the children or who their parents were!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shannon
  • Shannon
  • 03-09-20

Confusing. Gripping. What the hell.

First book I’ve read/listened to by Ali Mercer. I was absolutely gripped within the first chapter. I’ve finished the book in 2 days. It was fantastic but so confusing and the twists and turns will keep you on your feet. Highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cleopatra
  • Cleopatra
  • 05-16-20

Pleasant listen with interesting characters

The narrators voice is easy to listen to which is one of the most important things for audio book. Ali Mercer has created a great pretext for a story and hearing the story unfold from a number of different perspectives made the best use of tension as the story that initially unfolds takes an unexpected turn. With the story involving single mother Jenny and her two teenage daughters, Ava and Emily there are lots of different elements going on. With a hint of the supernatural thrown in for good measure I wondered which way the story would take. This was a fairly gentle yet involved listen that has accompanied me through lockdown nicely

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen J
  • Karen J
  • 03-31-20

great story

Intriguing insight into all the characters of the book. kept listening to the end despite the irritating narrator.