adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $16.77

Buy for $16.77

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Elikem married me in absentia; he did not come to our wedding.”

Afi Tekple is a young seamstress whose life is narrowing rapidly. She lives in a small town in Ghana with her widowed mother, spending much of her time in her uncle Pious’ house with his many wives and children. Then one day she is offered a life-changing opportunity - a proposal of marriage from the wealthy family of Elikem Ganyo, a man she doesn’t truly know. She acquiesces but soon realizes that Elikem is not quite the catch he seemed. He sends a stand-in to his own wedding, and only weeks after Afi is married and installed in a plush apartment in the capital city of Accra does she meet her new husband. It turns out that he is in love with another woman, whom his family disapproves of; Afi is supposed to win him back on their behalf. But it is Accra that eventually wins Afi’s heart and gives her a life of independence that she never could have imagined for herself.

A brilliant scholar and a fierce advocate for women’s rights, author Peace Adzo Medie infuses her debut novel with intelligence and humor. For fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Candice Carty-Williams, His Only Wife is the story of an indomitable and relatable heroine that illuminates what it means to be a woman in a rapidly changing world.

©2020 Peace Adzo Medie (P)2020 Workman Publishing

What listeners say about His Only Wife

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    346
  • 4 Stars
    175
  • 3 Stars
    78
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    356
  • 4 Stars
    129
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    17
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    307
  • 4 Stars
    155
  • 3 Stars
    72
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Storyline okay, audible performance horrible

It’s very difficult to listen to a story about your native home narrated by someone who is not familiar with the accent or can’t pronounce the words correctly. Having African books narrated by Western voices is a real disservice to the authenticity of the story.

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible story

Listening to this book you would think it was written in the early 1900’s and not 2020. I kept listening hoping it would get better. The author portrayed the character as weak and willing to trade sex for her husband to love and want her. The main character is supposed to be black, but described her skin as pale. Every negative stereotype of African women and men is highlighted in this book. Clearly the author has issues with being black and African. I will be requesting my money because I will not support the degrading of black women.!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Terrible Narration

The narrator ruined it for me. Accent please. The story had potential and left the best storylines unexplored.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story

This was a good book with a storyline that transcends location. Just wish the narrator had a more authentic accent.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

From suffering to insufferable

I was very disappointed with this Reese's Book Club pick. The story had potential, but I felt the main character came across as selfish and entitled. I love a woman finding her voice, but when she is completely devoid of empathy and acts as if nobody helped her along the way, and sees her relationship from only her own limited perspective, caring solely about her own needs, that voice becomes tiresome. The narrator's tone only added to the sense that she looked on everything and everyone with contempt and disdain. A more apt title would be Rise of the Narcissist.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Blah!

Just moved too slowly, especially the first half. Needs more of the culture of their society.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVED IT!!!!

At first I was thrown off by the narrator because I expected her to have an accent but I'm glad I continued to listen. This book is fantastic! I was swepted away by the 2nd chapter! I did not want it to end! The narrator did a wonderful job and the author is now my new FAV! I am recommending this book to all my friends!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Lovely story about a woman finding her inner strength, learning her own value and standing up for what she wants.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Summer Read.

A quick read, great for a summer vacation.
Well written and well performed.
Enjoy it!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A not so happy ending because of family

In many cultures, having a spouse that is approved by family is essential in the steps towards marriage. It’s common in some cultures in many countries in Africa to have more that one wife. In modern times, not so much. With 13 year gap, the family thought they could create a Cinderella story. Everyone deserves to be loved the way they want, rich or poor. Sorry filled with drama, mama’s boys, snobby elders, greed and more. * spoiler* Would you wait for someone to die to have your happiness?