Your audiobook is waiting…

Highland Blood

The Celtic Blood Series, Book 2
Narrated by: Lesley Parkin
Length: 5 hrs and 38 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (185 ratings)
Regular price: $19.95
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Scotland, 1032. When a marriage contract calls Gruoch away from Ynes Verleath, she leaves with the hope she'll be reunited with Banquo. But fate has different plans. Lies, betrayal, and violence await her. Set on a collision course with destiny, Gruoch soon finds herself thrust into the arms of another man. Her dreams shattered and rattled by unexpected brutality, it becomes more than Gruoch can handle. The raven, however, is no stranger to carnage. Fierce power grows inside Gruoch, and more than anything, it craves bloody revenge.

Fans of Outlander and The Mists of Avalon will relish this sweeping Scottish historical fantasy that tells the tale of Gruoch, a woman struggling to escape her fate without blood on her hands.

Continue the Celtic Blood Series with book two, Highland Blood.

©2016 Clockpunk Press (P)2016 Clockpunk Press

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    148
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    131
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    125
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Trigger Warning

Spoiler: the book opens with the main character being raped. I'm deeply disappointed with what I thought was going to be a very enjoyable fantasy series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intrigue and magic

when I finish the series I will diffently listen to this again! loved it very much!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Raven's Korbey

loved it all three book's, Celtic lore was wonderful every magical moment mixed in with the Macbeth tale is wonderful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very inspiring

really enjoyed it. masterful storytelling. loved that it's not filled with bloodshed and war. able to make literary tension without that.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If possible, better than the first!

I didn’t know what to expect but this second book is awesome as well. I absolutely LOVED the first book. The only complaint I can find is that they are over too quickly. The magical story telling is so well done.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Story interrupted

First, let me say I really like the story. But I must be said that this is along the lines of a Sanderson epic yet the first two “books” could easily have been 1 book. It feels a bit like a grab for extra $ to split them into 2 very incomplete stories. That said, I will still be waiting for the 3rd and final? (Unless it too is split into short books) because I really enjoy the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

just as good as the first book

i have greatly enjoyed both of the books in the Celtic Blood series. I can't wait to hear the next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heart Stopping

This book is filled with magic and gut-wrenching sorrow. It made my heart ache as I rode the wave of emotion alongside the main character. My heart cried out with the injustice suffered by this poor young woman. I felt as if I too was part of her coven when she gave birth. I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves magic and fairies as well as historical fiction. the narration was wonderful! She had the perfect scottish accent, which made the book spring to life in front of me!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I need more. I need the next book. I need my Raven

when is the next book due out. I am obsessed with this series. it's too good to put down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Melinda
  • Beaufort, SC, United States
  • 05-09-17

great story

I loved this book. kept my attention for hours. kept me awake some nights lol but totally worth it. the narrator is fantastic.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lolah
  • 12-17-18

A spellbinding story, excellently narrated. Highly recommended!

I listened to this story on Audible without having read the book first, but I don't feel I lost anything from doing this - it was so excellently narrated by Lesley Parkin that the whole world came to life in my head as she wove the story, like a movie playing behind my eyelids (I closed my eyes to enjoy it best, not to sleep, honest!). It's a truly spellbinding story, and I'd highly recommend it to anyone who likes fairytale and myth retellings (it's a version of the early life of Lady Macbeth), fantasy stories, or just something a bit different. I'm loving this series, and will definitely be listening to book 3 ASAP!