Highland Blood

The Celtic Blood Series, Book 2
Narrated by: Lesley Parkin
Series: The Celtic Blood Series, Book 2
Length: 5 hrs and 38 mins
Categories: Romance, Fantasy
4.5 out of 5 stars (315 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Scotland, 1032. When a marriage contract calls Gruoch away from Ynes Verleath, she leaves with the hope she'll be reunited with Banquo. But fate has different plans. Lies, betrayal, and violence await her. Set on a collision course with destiny, Gruoch soon finds herself thrust into the arms of another man. Her dreams shattered and rattled by unexpected brutality, it becomes more than Gruoch can handle. The raven, however, is no stranger to carnage. Fierce power grows inside Gruoch, and more than anything, it craves bloody revenge.

Fans of Outlander and The Mists of Avalon will relish this sweeping Scottish historical fantasy that tells the tale of Gruoch, a woman struggling to escape her fate without blood on her hands.

Continue the Celtic Blood Series with book two, Highland Blood.

©2016 Clockpunk Press (P)2016 Clockpunk Press
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    246
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    223
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    212
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Trigger Warning

Spoiler: the book opens with the main character being raped. I'm deeply disappointed with what I thought was going to be a very enjoyable fantasy series.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intrigue and magic

when I finish the series I will diffently listen to this again! loved it very much!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Raven's Korbey

loved it all three book's, Celtic lore was wonderful every magical moment mixed in with the Macbeth tale is wonderful.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very inspiring

really enjoyed it. masterful storytelling. loved that it's not filled with bloodshed and war. able to make literary tension without that.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Hauting

The second book furthers the story and it gives so much more than the book before. Taking my emotions and runs me through the gambit of everyone you can imagine. Melanie Karsak has out done herself with this story and has made a good choice having Lesly Larkin read the story for us. Her accent brings the right flavor for each of the characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Wonderful Fantasy Read!

I am totally hooked on this series! The story pulls you in right from the beginning. This was easily a wonderful escape read for me. I wanted more! I love all the magic and lore woven into the story. The narrator’s voice was perfect and I felt it enhanced the story even more for me. I can’t wait to read more!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fantastical read!

Fierce power grows inside Gruoch, and more than anything, it craves bloody revenge...

Another fantastic read! A magnificent sequel to this stunning series.

So intriguing and interesting.

Lovely narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Magical

I love this book series because it's full of magic and love. I truly feel the emotional connection of the main character.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highland Blood

I devoured this book in one day! The transformation that Gruoch goes through was well done. The series of events were faster paced in this book compared to the first. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Couldn't stop.

The story is maturing. I couldn't stop listening and was taken by surprise when it finished.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lolah
  • Lolah
  • 12-17-18

A spellbinding story, excellently narrated. Highly recommended!

I listened to this story on Audible without having read the book first, but I don't feel I lost anything from doing this - it was so excellently narrated by Lesley Parkin that the whole world came to life in my head as she wove the story, like a movie playing behind my eyelids (I closed my eyes to enjoy it best, not to sleep, honest!). It's a truly spellbinding story, and I'd highly recommend it to anyone who likes fairytale and myth retellings (it's a version of the early life of Lady Macbeth), fantasy stories, or just something a bit different. I'm loving this series, and will definitely be listening to book 3 ASAP!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Book Squirrel
  • Book Squirrel
  • 02-05-20

Bewitching.

In this excellent sequel to ‘Highland Raven’, Karsak continues the magical, mystical story of Gruoch as she continues to learn of her destiny amid the complexity of both worlds to which she belongs.

As with the first book in this series, Gruoch’s story is so beautifully written and expertly crafted that the reader becomes deeply invested in the events and characters of the story, sharing Gruoch’s fears, pain, and hopes as her life takes compelling twists and unpredictable turns. She is a complex and powerful woman, strong and admirable, and steadfast in the face of conflict and danger. Yet, she is never portrayed as perfect, never unrealistically good, and never so contrived as to not be believable.

There are some lovely references to Shakespeare’s ’Macbeth’, woven seamlessly into the narrative. This establishes close ties between that story and this one, even though the events of this series thus far happen before those in the famous play.

The narration is expressive and almost bewitching in itself. Lesley Parkin does and excellent job of enchanting the reader, be it with magic, romance or adventure.

The story delivers a fascinating blend of history, mystery, fantasy, romance, and adventure in an deeply engaging read that, once started, demands to be consumed.