Her Final Confession: An Absolutely Addictive Crime Fiction Novel

Detective Josie Quinn Series, Book 4
Narrated by: Kate Handford
Series: Detective Josie Quinn, Book 4
Length: 9 hrs and 8 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (709 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Watching her friend dragged away in handcuffs, Josie couldn't believe for one second that Gretchen had killed that poor boy. Confession or not, someone else was involved. She would find out who...

When the body of a young student is found on the driveway of a local Denton home, a photograph pinned to his collar, Detective Josie Quinn is first on the scene. The house belongs to Gretchen Palmer, a dedicated member of Josie’s team, missing for the last 24 hours.

Working around the clock, Josie is stopped in her tracks when Gretchen hands herself in to the police. She knows that there’s no way Gretchen could ever be a killer, so why would she confess to a murder she didn’t commit?

Digging deep into Gretchen’s secretive life, Josie uncovers a link between the boy, the photograph, and a devastating case in Gretchen’s past. But just when Josie thinks she has it all figured out, the bodies of a young couple surface on the other side of town. Can Josie get to the truth in time to save her friend from a life in prison or certain death?

Absolutely gripping, this unputdownable crime thriller from a USA Today and Wall Street Journal best-selling author will leave you gasping for breath. A perfect listen for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine.

©2018 Bookouture (P)2018 Lisa Regan

Critic Reviews

"Wow this book was amazing I loved it. Right from the start it was fast paced and full of action and suspense…That ending, oh wow! This is a fantastic read, I highly recommend it and don’t hesitate in giving 5 stars it was brilliant, there is absolutely nothing negative I can say about this book, I loved it." (Bonnie’s Book Talk, 5 stars)

What listeners say about Her Final Confession: An Absolutely Addictive Crime Fiction Novel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    533
  • 4 Stars
    136
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    462
  • 4 Stars
    125
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    472
  • 4 Stars
    130
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Than you for the new narrator!

I almost didn’t get this book, but then I realized it was a new narrator. It makes a world of difference.
The story was a little far fetched, but good.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic shory

We absolutely love your stories, just one question: why do you use Jesus as an expletory, why can’t you use “F### Mohammed” or Buddha, or even F## Hell instead of the ONLY TRUE GOD’s Name in vain? The correct translation of John 14v6 is “Jesus said: “I alone in Contradistinction to all other’s, Am the way and the Truth and the life, no one come to the Father, except through Me”

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Better Narrator

Much easier to listen to this book! Great story as always but much better narration.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Finally a better narrator!

So relieved the horrible narrator of the previous books in this series has finally been replaced. A much better listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Her final confession

I must tell you in the beginning it was hard following the story was all over the place. Sometimes listening while your driving you lose a little of what's happening.

So I focus a little more it took a couple of chapters, then I caught on. I enjoyed the audiobook, and reccomend it. If your new to this series, read from the first book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What does 1% MC & serial killer have in common?

Would you believe Benton, PA police detective Gretchen Palmer? In this book, Josie Quinn is searching for the truth to her friend’s disappearance, then admission to a young man’s death. Along the way, Josie just may also solve the murder of a young couple. Another well written book by this author, and great narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story, Irritating Narrator

The story was good. It kept my attention and made me want to hear what was coming next. Unfortunately, the narrator was part of that process. Every time she pronounced been as bean, and each time she put the emphasis on the wrong syllable (by US standards. admittedly) it diverted my focus to her, and away from the actual story. Like this author, but will probably pass on other audiobooks, if narrated by the same narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good storyline

wish Lisa would have stuck with same narrator as first 3 in series. not bad but not same.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

better

This narrator is much easier to listen too, compared to the first three books narrator. But this one still pronounces the word BEEN as BEAN. The only other thing is how she says the word POLICE its like PLICE.. or something. but really other than that she's hands down better. I skipped books 2 and 3 because I couldn't handle that narrator. so a few things happened that I had to piece together in this 4th book. if the first 3 books got narrated by someone else, I would listen to them to find out how certain. things happened. but until then I'll have to hope Lisa Regan gives good back story references, that helps.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not her best but pretty good!

I've listened to all the Josie Quinn series books. This may not be the best but it's easy listening, as long as you're paying attention. I found my mind wandering several times and had to go back several chapters. It's a bit unbelievable so I'll wait to see how it ends.

One thing that really got on my last nerve was the police chief, Chitwood (or however it's spelled since I was only listening, not seeing the printed word). He's such an SOB and would never be allowed to consistently talk to all his detectives the way he does. He curses them constantly, using the f-bomb and all the other bombs freely, in front of others, just to them, over the phone, in his office, in the conference room. I want him gone and I don't care how. Josie was much better as the chief, as the other detectives seem to think as well.

Also, the narrator is very good in terms of voice and inflection. But this is an American English book - stop with the "hof" for "half", "bean" for "been", emphasis on the wrong syllable in many words. Why do editors let this stuff by? If they read reviews, they'd know how distracting and irritating it is. And, no, any of you protestors and me first people, you don't get to say I'm racist, egocentric, whatever. This is my review and my opinion. So far, I still have that right.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 08-27-20

Enjoyable

It is difficult to find 15 words when listening to a long series back to back, except I’m still listening, enjoying them and going straight to the next! The new narrator is equally good and hasn’t changed the tone of the series.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hayley
  • Hayley
  • 06-26-20

You have to get into it to remember the storyline

More of one of those listen in the background books although I often found myself relistening to chapters as I had forgotten what the story, average good book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susanne
  • Susanne
  • 07-14-19

great

full of twists and turns Lisa delivers again. great series of books highly recommend it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Caroline McCabe
  • Caroline McCabe
  • 05-06-19

A page turner. love these books.

great series. love these books fast becoming my favourite collection of books. great read guaranteed

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for George A Bear
  • George A Bear
  • 05-04-19

I did want to know what happened at the end.

I wasn't sure how to grade this book as at times I was going to give up. The links took a long time to develop but then, halfway through the book, all was revealed.

It ended up with 4* because I did end up wanting to know what the end was.

Will I read book 5? Yes. Hopefully it will be back to 5*!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lizelle
  • Lizelle
  • 04-25-19

Another great book

Loved it, same as the others in the series. Was a bit disappointed by Narrator that was changed. Could distinguish the different characters better with the previous Narrator, but still buying the next one immediately.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anita
  • Anita
  • 02-05-19

Couldn't stop listening.

I really enjoyed this fourth installment of the Josie Quinn series not only for the story itself but because the narrator was finally changed. Kate Handford did a brilliant job of picking up the characters and I didn't find myself fixated on poor pronunciation throughout the book.

Can't wait for book 5.