adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the author of The Best Laid Plans comes another fresh voiced, hilarious rom-com perfect for fans of You Have a Match and The Rest of the Story.

Penny Harris just ruined her life. 

As one of the most popular girls in school, she's used to being invited to every party, is dating the Jordan Parker, and can't wait to rule senior year with her best friend, Olivia. But when Penny wakes up on Jordan's lawn the morning after his first-day-of-summer bash, she knows something went horribly wrong the night before. 

She kissed Kai Tanaka.  

Kai, her longtime nemesis. Kai, Olivia's boyfriend. Penny can't figure out what could have inspired her to do it - she loves Jordan and she would never hurt Olivia - but one thing's for sure: freshly dumped, and out a best friend, the idyllic summer she pictured is over.

And despite the fact that Jordan seems to be seeking comfort (and a whole lot more) in Olivia, all Penny can think about is winning him back. Kai wants to save his relationship too, so they come up with a plan: convince their friends that they really do have feelings for each other. After all, everyone forgives a good love story, and maybe seeing Penny and Kai together will make Jordan and Olivia change their minds.

But as summer heats up, so does Penny and Kai's "relationship", and Penny starts to question whether she's truly faking it with Kai, if he's really as terrible as she always thought he was, and if the life she's fighting so hard to get back is the one she really wants.

©2021 Cameron Lund (P)2021 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

“In this fresh rom-com...Penny’s character growth is clear and sympathetic, as she goes from self-obsessed popular girl to a young woman who explores her emotions and desires in the age of social-media romance, cyberbullying, and gossip chains.” (Booklist)

“A lighthearted and perceptive fauxmance.” (Kirkus Reviews

“Come for the fake dating, stay for the fraught feelings and an ending that will make your heart soar.” (Jennifer Iacopelli, author of Break the Fall

What listeners say about Heartbreakers and Fakers

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cameron Lund does an exceptional job!!

This is Cameron Lund's second book and it doesn't disappoint. A lessoned learned YA high school romance that is easy to read or listen to. The narrator did an AWESOME job (she sounds like a high schooler) and brings the characters alive. I will be keeping my eye out for Ms. Lund's third book to come out.

If you enjoy Kasie West -
you will love Cameron Lund!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

When the 2nd Book is Just as Good!

I loved how real each of the characters felt and the way friendships and the maintenance of them was touched on. One of those stories I feel like all high school girls should read. I would have loved to hear a male voice actor cover Kai’s voice or revealed his perspective on at least one chapter.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great book!

This book captured the nuances and complications of relationships in high school.
It captured the ups and downs of young romance and friendships.
The ending was joyful!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-04-21

So good

Really wonderful book, different from anything I’ve read since getting in to audible but beautiful story!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jess0404
  • Jess0404
  • 06-14-21

would give more than 5 stars if I could

This book has everything. yes, it's predictable but even though I knew how it would end I adored the journey. its well written and the performance is one of my favourite yet. Rachel L Jacobs does an amazing job.
Honestly my new favourite book.
If tropey high school teen books is your thing. you won't be disappointed.