We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Mind-Gut Connection Audiobook

The Mind-Gut Connection: How the Hidden Conversation Within Our Bodies Impacts Our Mood, Our Choices, and Our Overall Health

Regular Price:$24.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, a practical guide in the tradition of Wheat Belly and Grain Brain that conclusively demonstrates the inextricable biological link between mind and body.

We have all experienced the connection between our mind and our gut - the decision we made because it "felt right"; the butterflies in our stomach before a big meeting; the anxious stomach rumbling when we're stressed out. While the dialogue between the gut and the brain has been recognized by ancient healing traditions, including Ayurvedic and Chinese medicine, Western medicine has failed to appreciate the complexity of how the brain, gut, and, more recently, the microbiome - the microorganisms that live inside us - communicate with one another. In The Mind-Gut Connection, Dr. Emeran Mayer, executive director of the UCLA Oppenheimer Center for Neurobiology of Stress and Resilience, offers a revolutionary look at this developing science, teaching us how to harness the power of the mind-gut connection to take charge of our health.

The Mind-Gut Connection describes:

  • Why consuming a predominantly plant-based diet is key for gut and brain health
  • The importance of early childhood in gut-brain development and what parents can do to help their children thrive
  • The role of excessive stress and anxiety in GI ailments and cognitive disorders
  • How to "listen to your gut" and pay attention to the signals your body is sending you
  • And much more

©2016 Emeran Mayer, MD (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (136 )
5 star
 (84)
4 star
 (32)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.3 (116 )
5 star
 (67)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.1 (117 )
5 star
 (61)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Ian B. Florida, USA 08-15-16
    Ian B. Florida, USA 08-15-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    226
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    21
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    14
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Misleading"

    Although The Mind-Gut Connection is thorough and informative, Emeran Mayer's dated stance (and skewing) on the topics of animal fat and sugar intake are rather depressing. He cites the umbrella term 'fat' for multiple studies without any exact specification, while opting to use the term 'refined sugar' in order to draw a distinction between manmade and naturally occurring sugar. Not once does he delve into the topics of damaged fat, saturated fat, monounsaturated fat, or unsaturated fat, even when drawing conclusions about the certain 'fad diets' in question. The way he leans more toward sugar-gorging as opposed to eating meat leads me to question some of his other beliefs and credibility.

    Although this is par for the course, I honestly expected more from a seemingly progressive book written by an accomplished medical doctor. Luckily, there will always be the Mark Hyman's of the world fighting the good fight.

    22 of 26 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Walter Ajax, ON, Canada 07-16-16
    Walter Ajax, ON, Canada 07-16-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    54
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very repetitive, very repetitive"
    Would you try another book from Emeran Mayer MD and/or Traber Burns?

    Probably not


    What was most disappointing about Emeran Mayer MD’s story?

    Most of the book is already known or speculative. Save your money, since you are what you eat period.


    Any additional comments?

    There are a few interesting things that we already know, and they are repeated each chapter to the tune of an infomercial.

    11 of 14 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. D. Austin 03-21-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    18
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Old Stuff. Strictly Remedial. Not for Me."
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    This book is for people who want an introduction to a soft version of older, accessible *case studies* on gut diseases by its physician author, and soft science on things related.

    If it's the very first thing you've ever read about gut health, it could be a good starting place. But it doesn't make any substantial, worthwhile recommendations on how to improve gut health. And it's tone is overall *especially* negative and overly dramatic.

    So I skipped through many of its chapters to find something I'd feel was worthwhile for me. Didn't find anything.


    What didn’t you like about Traber Burns’s performance?

    If you enjoy listening to someone who sounds like your father reading a telephone book, this is the book for you.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christian A. Speer 09-03-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    30
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Authoritative review of exciting new field that affects all of us"

    Highly recommended authoritative summary, opinion and outlook of brain-gut-microbiome science, still in its infancy but not so immature not to provide guidance founded on science, by a world expert in academic neuro-gastroenterology that ends on very practical, actionable advice, in line with the helpful highly readable approach throughout the book.
    I appreciate the clear distinctions between current knowledge from human data that definitely applies to most of us versus the non-human data and the non-data-derived expert advice that probably applies. This is appropriate and in contrast to other popular health/wellness books and advice that far too often present mere deductions, speculations or worst, ideologically motivated or profit-oriented wishful thinking as science, misleading and ultimately disappointing the innocent and fellow ideologues.
    For the future, one wishes for regular revisions to the book as research advances to confirms and refutes today's impressions and fine-tune advice for healthier, better living. @DrChristianSpee

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    hippychikn 10-15-17
    hippychikn 10-15-17
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book, not great narration"

    The book had a lot of good information and was interesting. Unfortunately, I was so distracted by the weirdly halting narration that I found it difficult to listen to. Every few seconds there would be a pause, as though words were being put in unnecessary quotes. The narrator also sounded utterly disinterested in the subject matter, even though the book is meant to be read from the point of view of the author, who is obviously excited by his research. Good info, unfortunate narration.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MASTERS DESIGNS 06-26-17
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    9
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing Information for EVERYONE to read and know!!"

    This information is vital for every human to have and equip themselves for optimal health. Every family should have this information to achieve wellness and maintain health.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dr. Anthony G. Jay 06-24-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    18
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you have mental disorders, this book is a MUST"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I would recommend this audiobook to friends with mental disorders or mental issues. It is eye-opening information. That being said, I think the author was misguided on his view of fats. He makes a few jabs at fats, which is too bad because good fat and cholesterol is tremendously important for mental health!


    What did you like best about this story?

    I liked his stories and experience with native tribes. Even there, however, I think he forgets these people eat brains and other high-fat foods. I think he trys a bit hard to make "low fat" fit his narrative, which is otherwise very good (albeit slightly conventional in terms of practical recommendations - and conventional certainly hasn't been working in America!)


    Which character – as performed by Traber Burns – was your favorite?

    As a scientist, I laughed at a few of his pronunciations - like "microglial" - but overall the reading was fine.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joe M. Payne 06-16-17
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    17
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book, lousy reader"

    This was a terrific book. Lots of remarkable information from an expert in the field. The reader was really ad. Very old school authoritarian style like a 1950 newsreel announcer. He read it like it was a Presidential executive order to murder all the male children under four years of age. Traber, lighten up!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anonymous 05-01-17
    05-01-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    45
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lots of helpful information"

    Lots of helpful information. I was having got problems and this let me realize that they could be a symptom of my emotions

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    McZaustria Houston 03-01-17
    McZaustria Houston 03-01-17 Member Since 2014
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    26
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very interesting"

    informative but a little repetitive at times. probably one of the fields, able to change the way we treat disease.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.