Harvest Moon

Narrated by: Felicity Hart, Shannon Gunn
Series: Moon, Book 4
Length: 9 hrs and 17 mins
Categories: Romance, Paranormal
4.5 out of 5 stars (108 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Some wolves were never meant for a mate....

Dr. Jason Ayers unleashes all of his rage and his frustration through fists and brute force in an underground boxing ring. The werewolf may be the pack's doctor, but he can't even heal his coma-stricken father after the Nero Organization's attack stopped his heart. And as his Pack brothers settle down around him, he still refuses to believe in the fairy tale notion that every wolf has a true mate....

In hiding and on the run, nurse Kilani Akamu is a loose end that Nero is desperate to tie up. She can't afford to be attracted to a doctor - especially one as unexpectedly hot and complex as Jason. Yet the sexual sparks arcing between them are undeniable...and Kilani's precognitive senses warn her that temptation is inevitable.

All it takes is one touch to send Jason's wolf howling. But even if he could protect her from Nero, he can't protect her from himself....

Each book in the Moon series is a stand-alone, full-length story that can be enjoyed out of order.

PRISM Winner for Best Dark Paranormal Romance

©2015 Lisa Kessler (P)2018 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Harvest Moon

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great installment!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yep, great story, awesome narration. Really pulls you in.

What other book might you compare Harvest Moon to and why?

For fans of Shifter books or PNR

Which scene was your favorite?

Uncovering some of Sebastian's secrets.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I liked seeing Jason's beliefs being shook up.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Trust and believe in love.

What is there to say I loved this book it proves that even if you are not looking for love it will find you. Great job Lisa Kessler. I highly recommend this amazing book and series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

These narrators are awesome!

Jason doesn't believe in true mates. He also is having anger issues because he believes that he has failed the pack when Malcolm died. And again when Nadya was harmed by the Nero scientist that he brought in. He takes up boxing in a underground fight club. When Kilani comes to talk to him about his dad she sees the damage from a fight. When she touched him damaged knuckles later on, he is hit by his wolf recognizing his mate. Of course Nero plays a big role in the book too. Kilani was trying to hide from them when she and Jason first met. We find out a few of Sebastian's secrets about Nero. I crazy over this series. I can't wait to read more. Again...these narrators are awesome!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Steamy, action-packed, and wonderful characters!

This is Book 4 of a paranormal romance series, but I found it very easy to read as a standalone. This is the first book by Lisa Kessler that I have experienced, and I liked it a lot. “Harvest Moon” is a solid and entertaining romance between a nice werewolf guy and a psychic human lady who has visions of the near future. The writing style reminds me of the talented Sherrilyn Kenyon. The author has both boringly normal and excitingly original elements in this gripping story. The villain is a single evil organization who wants to enslave psychic women for their own nefarious purposes. (I am rather bored with the single evil entity as the enemy in a paranormal romance.) However, one rather innovative element in this novel is the interesting dichotomy of a hero who is a medical doctor but whose frustrating circumstances lead him to routinely damage his own hands and body in an illegal fight club. Dr. Jason Ayers is a good guy who respects women and deeply loves his extended family, but he has some interesting and understandable issues. I also have never encountered a Hawaiian heroine or Hawaiian mythology in a romance novel, and I absolutely loved it! I also appreciate the author's attention to detail for medical emergency situations. Lisa Kessler is also great at high-tension action scenes. I connected with the main characters, and I liked them. I felt sympathy for Kilani's difficulty in trusting people, and I admired her inner strength. Kilani and Jason had wonderfully sizzling chemistry. I think that the love scenes are moderately steamy. There is a bunch of cussing and some bloody violence in the book. It is written in first person perspective alternating between Kilani and Jason. I appreciate the theme of being honest with yourself and your loved ones. My main problem with the audiobook is the narrators. There is a female narrator Felicity Hart and a male narrator Shannon Gunn. They each were excellent at their own main character. Jason's voice, as spoken by Mr. Gunn, was expressive, sexy, and gravelly. I was charmed by how Jason makes the word “sh*t” into a two-syllable word. Also, Kilani’s voice spoken by Ms. Hart was beautiful, expressive, and I could believe that she grew up in Hawaii. Now, the problem was that the two narrators did not seem to consult with each other at all about what the characters should sound like. The same character as spoken by the different narrators sounds like a completely different person with a different accent and pitch. This was really jarring from chapter to chapter. In addition, while the male narrator could differentiate characters' voices, the female narrator could not. They all sounded the same in Ms. Hart’s chapters. I recommend this book to everyone who likes steamy, suspenseful paranormal romance. I also just listened to the next book in the series and that one is even better with much better narrators. I am glad that I listened in order to “Harvest Moon” and then the next audiobook “Ice Moon” about Jason’s brother. I am impressed by the high quality of Lisa Kessler’s writing.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

I read the book and have now listened to the audiobook. This audiobook brought the characters to life and I have enjoyed listening to them. The story is by far amazing and I think I laughed more listening to it because of the readers doing different voices.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Harvest Moon

Another fantastic story in this series. It was thrilling, suspenseful, and intriguing. I enjoyed every moment of this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent series!

I love this series! Shifters, mates, mystical elements, all of that I love! I love seeing characters from the past books, and I'm excited to read more! The suspense and action are always fun and enjoyable, and Nero is still being a pain in the butt. I'd read the previous books before starting with this series for a more enjoyable experience, but each book has a different couple. I really enjoyed listening to the audio on all the previous books, but this one misses some. The female narrator is great, but the male narrator didn't fit the character of Jason. I believe another reviewer mentioned that he sounded like an action movie narrator, and I totally agree. He's over the top most of the time, it made me laugh sometimes with how much. He also made the other characters sound so weird; especially Adam, but I'd still recommend it because the story is good. This installment isn't my favorite, but I still really liked it. Jason acts too much like a baby in this one, and he doesn't use his intelligence. He does have his moments though, and I still liked him, but I didn't feel the level of growth I expect from him. Kilani was okay, but I didn't really enjoy her backstory. The romance is still sweet, and the story is still exciting. Looking forward to the next book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ouch! Bad narrators!

First, let me say that I enjoyed the first three books very much. Interesting characters, good story, and most importantly, for a romance book, the author knows how to write about people falling in love and also knows how to write excellent love scenes. Now with all of that, you might wonder why I’ given this book a 2 star rating, it’s because of the narrators. The first three books each had their own set of male/female narrators and they were all pretty good, no complaints from me. In this book, I’m sorry to say, I cannot say the same. Felicity Hart didn’t do too bad as far as the acting part of voice acting went, but failed in the”voice” part . All of her voices sounded the same, especially the 2 lead characters, Jessie sounded like a girl. But Shannon Dunn was just plain god awful! He made Adam sound like an old, loud, grouchy, cowboy hick and the rest of the pack the same, but to a lesser degree. Jessie sounded like a stressed out mess, I guess it was in keeping with his fight club persona but way over the top. Gunn over acted the whole book and all his voices were grating on my nerves. First, Mr. Dunn, do your homework and get the feel of the first three books and don’t mess the mood up. And 2nd, do us all a favor and stay away from romance books, please. We women like the guys to sound sexy, handsome, and romantic! I actually blame the idiots who picked these two because they made me dislike everything about the book. I’m already listening to “Ice Moon” an the two narrators are very good! So we’re back on track