adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.72

Buy for $20.72

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the best-selling author of the Welcome to Harpers Emporium and the Mulberry Lane series.

The Harpers Girls come face-to-face with the harsh reality of the cruelty of war. 

Oxford Street, London 1915.

Sally Harper quietly battles to keep Harpers afloat in the difficult days of the war, whilst husband Ben is working all hours for the War Office. 

Beth Burrow is fighting concern for her husband, Jack, now at sea with the Merchant Navy, and the fear she may never see him again and be blessed with a child. 

Driven to exhaustion, Maggie Gibbs, is now working as a nursing assistant on the battlefields in France. With the everyday horrors of the casualties of war to contend with, she suffers her own personal tragedy when her fiancé's plane ditches in the sea.

Can the Harpers Girls and their loved ones survive the perils of war and find a path to future happiness? 

A heart-warming saga following the lives, loves and losses of the Harpers Girls. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Pam Howes and Dilly Court.

©2020 Rosie Clarke (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about Harpers Heroes

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This narrator’s shortcomings does the author no favors

Listener absolutely must make a conscious effort to overlook this narrator’s poor attempt at accents and individualized character voices. Her voice is pleasant and narration quite good and she stick with that.
Did the producer/director even bother to listen to this? If so, shame on them!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good book, awful narration

Another good read with familiar friends plus bonus of Marcos double life .
Narration dreadful as always, possibly worse than Pollys previous efforts. Cant understand why author/publisher would continue to engage sub-par narrator if it will reflect unfavourably on the books?

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lana garlick
  • lana garlick
  • 08-11-21

Lovely story, but …..

The narrator of this book chose to change the accents of main characters Sally, Maggie & Marlene. Having grown accustomed to these characters in previous 2 books I found it off putting and so didn’t finish this book.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sharon Forbes
  • sharon Forbes
  • 01-05-21

fantastic,

another fantastic book cant wait for the next one now everything a book should be

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beverley S. Thompson
  • Beverley S. Thompson
  • 10-28-21

Great Story, Terrible Narrator

Love these stories but why did they change the narrator. It spoilt the story through over acting and mispronunciations. I hope they switch back to the original narrator for the next book in the series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Krazykar
  • Krazykar
  • 10-10-21

This wonderful story continues

I so enjoyed the stories of the challenges of a world war , the characters are still not right and the vocals distract from the authencity of the story…so many of them were changed in book 3 onwards. However for the story it is wonderful to continue the journey and i look forward to book five. Thank you Rosie clarke

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jackie Mitchell
  • Jackie Mitchell
  • 09-27-21

I really enjoyed the series but.....

Why did the narrator change after book 2? 🙉 so hard to continue listening. Shame

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracy Hewett
  • Tracy Hewett
  • 09-02-21

Great story, questionable narration

The Narrator was changed after the first 2 books in this series which isn’t great to do 3 books in. The book and content are great, very enjoyable but since this is an audio book app the narrator is super-central to the storyline. A couple of the characters sound very over-twee and one develops a lisp 3/4 way through the book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-28-21

Good story, somewhat spoiled by narration.

I found narrators performance grating when doing Northern accents. Speed of speech slow and sounded as though they all had educational challenges.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wendy
  • wendy
  • 11-29-20

Heart string stretching!

Absolutely loved this book ,as I have all Rosie Clarke ❤ books 📚 As the story unfolds ,every emotion is revealed. It is read beautifully, every different voice are instantly recognisably. I can't wait for the next book. Thank you Rosie.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jack
  • Jack
  • 09-27-21

Shame about the accents

As the last book in the series spoilt by the narrator with terrible accents, but continued with series as story quite good. Will now go onto the last one in the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for andrea ainley
  • andrea ainley
  • 09-14-21

The saga continues

Great story but the narration lets this series down badly. Having previously commented that this narrator - not the same from book 1 - has chosen to give Sally an upper class accent not in keeping with her background and affected speech impediments for other characters - which may upset some people and/or find offensive.

Will continue with the series as I am enjoying the books albeit I roll my eyes at the narration.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Being objective
  • Being objective
  • 02-01-21

Good story, shocking narration

I nearly didn’t get this book in audio format when I saw it was Polly Edsell again as narrator.
As with my review of the previous book this narrator doesn’t get the characters voices at all. She gives Sally an upper class accent when she is an East End girl of humble origins. She gives Maggie who is from a well educated background a Cockney Sparrow voice in fact at one point all the voices had the same accent. The Matron sounded like the owner of a low class B & B and the captain who was quite young sounded like an elderly man with voice extinction.
Please Rosie Clarke, if you do a sequel to this series, give us a better narrator.
Good narration is 50% of an audiobook’s worth.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon F
  • Sharon F
  • 12-09-20

Harpers Heroes

I love this series and was really looking forward to this next ‘episode’. The story as usual was lovely and if you haven’t listened to any of the series before I’m sure you will enjoy it. However, the narrator in this one was awful! The accents were totally overdone and nothing at all like the previous characters. Key players who certainly didn’t grow up ‘with a plum in their mouth’ in the lower class areas of London or an orphanage, now sound totally ridiculous with an almost royalty accent! I stuck with it as I love the story but was sorely tempted to return the recording and read the book itself so I could imagine and ‘hear’ the characters for myself. If the next in the series has the same narrator, I will definitely read the book rather than listen to it.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-22-20

I couldn’t listen anymore

Loved all the previous books in this series but just couldn’t handle the narrator of this book - drove me mad!!