Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.72

Buy for $20.72

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the best-selling author of the Welcome to Harpers Emporium and the Mulberry Lane series.

The Harpers Girls come face-to-face with the harsh reality of the cruelty of war. 

Oxford Street, London 1915.

Sally Harper quietly battles to keep Harpers afloat in the difficult days of the war, whilst husband Ben is working all hours for the War Office. 

Beth Burrow is fighting concern for her husband, Jack, now at sea with the Merchant Navy, and the fear she may never see him again and be blessed with a child. 

Driven to exhaustion, Maggie Gibbs, is now working as a nursing assistant on the battlefields in France. With the everyday horrors of the casualties of war to contend with, she suffers her own personal tragedy when her fiancé's plane ditches in the sea.

Can the Harpers Girls and their loved ones survive the perils of war and find a path to future happiness? 

A heart-warming saga following the lives, loves and losses of the Harpers Girls. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Pam Howes and Dilly Court.

©2020 Rosie Clarke (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about Harpers Heroes

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sharon Forbes
  • sharon Forbes
  • 01-05-21

fantastic,

another fantastic book cant wait for the next one now everything a book should be

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wendy
  • wendy
  • 11-29-20

Heart string stretching!

Absolutely loved this book ,as I have all Rosie Clarke ❤ books 📚 As the story unfolds ,every emotion is revealed. It is read beautifully, every different voice are instantly recognisably. I can't wait for the next book. Thank you Rosie.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon F
  • Sharon F
  • 12-09-20

Harpers Heroes

I love this series and was really looking forward to this next ‘episode’. The story as usual was lovely and if you haven’t listened to any of the series before I’m sure you will enjoy it. However, the narrator in this one was awful! The accents were totally overdone and nothing at all like the previous characters. Key players who certainly didn’t grow up ‘with a plum in their mouth’ in the lower class areas of London or an orphanage, now sound totally ridiculous with an almost royalty accent! I stuck with it as I love the story but was sorely tempted to return the recording and read the book itself so I could imagine and ‘hear’ the characters for myself. If the next in the series has the same narrator, I will definitely read the book rather than listen to it.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-22-20

I couldn’t listen anymore

Loved all the previous books in this series but just couldn’t handle the narrator of this book - drove me mad!!