adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.00

Buy for $24.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A Best Books of Summer 2019 Pick by Publishers Weekly

One of the Hottest Books of Summer by Goodreads

A Summer 2019 B&N Discover Great New Writers Selection

Inspired by Mexican folklore, Gods of Jade and Shadow is a magical, wildly imaginative coming-of-age tale for fans of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Helene Wecker.

The Jazz Age is in full swing, but Casiopea Tun is too busy scrubbing floors in her wealthy grandfather's house to do more than dream of a life far from her small town in Southern Mexico.

Until the day she accidentally frees an ancient Mayan god of death, who offers her a deal: in return for Casiopea's help in recovering his throne, he will grant her whatever she desires. 

From the jungles of Yucatán to the bright lights of Mexico City and deep into the darkness of Xibalba, the Mayan underworld, Casiopea's adventure will take her on a perilous cross-country odyssey beyond anything she's ever known.

Success will make her every dream come true, but failure will see her lost forever....

©2019 Silvia Moreno-Garcia (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

"This is historical fantasy at its best." (S.A. Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass)

"Wondrous and magical." (Kevin Hearne, author of the Iron Druid Chronicles)

"Evocative and moving." (Rebecca Roanhorse, author of Trial of Lightning)

What listeners say about Gods of Jade and Shadow

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Modern folktale, with spine

This is sweet, and compulsive escapism that does your soul good.

The lead character Casiopea is headstrong and determined. I loved her because she doesn't just do what she's meant to or think what she's meant to. She doesn't take the easy or most self-gratifying way out of difficult situations. She's a hero.

I liked that I couldn't predict what was going to happen next, and the characters you meet along the way, and the adventures and challenges are rich and interesting.

The narration is great, this is the perfect gentle strong voice for this story, which helps you escape away into another world.

I disagree with another review I've seen elsewhere that said this boils down to another traditional male-assent-oriented romance narrative, I think at it's heart it rejects that, and Casiopea makes her own choices.

It's lush and beautiful, and a pleasure to go along for the ride.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alana
  • Alana
  • 04-02-21

Loved the narration!

I really enjoy the world's Silvia manages to spin in her books. I could imagine exactly where it was taking me. The narration style was one of my favourites.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-26-20

Not your usual fairytale

I loved this book. Sent me down a mythology rabbit hole. 10/10 for plot/characters. Cassiopeia is believable and there are some truly beautiful moments scattered throughout the story. It's not over-the-top sweetness and the characters who need redemption don't find it immediately but they do start their journey towards it. The ending made me incredibly happy.