Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

My name is Eve Redding, and I am the new god.

They captured me in a dirty alley and injected me with a virtual reality chip, a GPS tracker, and my first Seed. They made me a Player. At first, I loved the miraculous ability to level up anything about myself.

Then they yanked me off my world for the first time and sent me to fight for my life on a vicious alien planet where the other Players are just as dangerous as the monsters, and if you can’t level up, you die. But I’m the type to cling to life by the tips of my bloody fingernails. And I hate it when people try to control me.

Gods of Blood and Bone is the first book in the Seeds of Chaos series, a LitRPG/GameLit book that combines science fiction and game elements. Fans of Ready Player One, Red Rising, and The Hunger Games will likely enjoy this series.

©2015 Seladore Publishing (P)2018 Seladore Publishing

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Initially Great, Sort of Ran Out of Steam for Me

Small Suggestion: Listen at 1.1x Speed. Seems to flow better, and makes the back and forth seem more natural.

tl;dr: I liked some parts of it, but it began to run out of steam.


So... yeah. Just some impressions, as I have discovered I'm utter rubbish at writing coherently about book. (How /did/ I ever pass High School English?)

-- Minor spoilers. --

The first trials the main character is forced into is actually terrifying. I found myself sitting with baited breath, nervous about what might happen.

The trials themselves (at least initially) really convey the sheer horror of what the MC is going through. They are brutal, bloody things, and this coming from me who was raised on a steady diet of 1980s action movies and horror films. Not to say that they are cinematic or what have you. The better ones have a sort of... dread to them. That sort of 'locked in a leaking box, tossed into the ocean' sort of feeling. The pressure of the situation pushing down on you, unable to breathe, trapped.

I think where the book began to fall apart for me is when the author started to move away from that. The trials became less terrifying and more... just sort of there. Near the end, they began to be skipped entirely ('oh, a trial happened'). When that started, some of the emotional impetus for the attempts to get away sort of fizzled out. However, I can see what the author was trying to do there. The author makes wonderful use of fear of the unknown, but you can't dwell in the mystery box too long. (In his house at R'lyeh dread JJ Abrams waits dreaming.)

However, after the abduction/torture fear stopped, I started to notice some plot holes, or started finding some of the directions the characters took as not understandable. Maybe it was because during the terrifying first part of the book, I was 'in the car', so to speak. "Yep, totally ok to do what you need to, to get out of this situation." After, what the actions they took didn't have the same weight. For me, I think it was the shift in focus from a personal horror to a broader, nebulous threat. Author tried to switch Fear of the Unknown with Fear of the Other, near the end. It didn't quite... work for me.

P.S.: Great interaction between siblings. It felt natural; full of the strange 'I'll pull your hair out but will do anything for you' dynamic a loving brother and sister will sometimes have.

Again, I apologize if this is disjointed. Like I said, I'm horrible at this. Give the book a try, it might work for you much better than it did for me. :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awe/mazing book worthy of becoming a movie.

This author reminds me of Stephen King. I sincerely hope this author becomes as prolific as Mr. King because this book is that good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Story fell apart a bit

Ellis’ story had a really good beginning. It was creepy and scary. I felt for the characters and the horrors they were going through. I was never sure what was going to happen and I was honestly scared for them. It seemed like all would be lost! But then about halfway through the novel changed and it became more about the bigger picture/greater unknown person to fear. It was pretty weird how it shifted. I don’t think there was a good transition and there wasn’t enough explanation of all the horrors going on after that point either. The characters themselves were interesting and felt realistic, I just wish I had seen more than been told in the novel. So for me I’m giving it about a 3/5 stars.

The narration by Duke is great! I loved her voice and all the little things she did to distinguish the characters. The bickering between the siblings felt natural as well. She has good pacing and studio production seems to be great as well. It was the narration that kept me hooked into the novel even when I felt the storyline seemed to fall apart a bit. I just really enjoyed listening to her and would definitely listen to another audiobook by her in the future! 5/5 stars.

I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by Azalea Ellis. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Lost interest

Interesting story. I lost interest 2/3rds the way through. but the last couple of chapters got interesting.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Walking the line between litrpg and teen fiction.

The plot's interesting and I enjoyed the quick pace of the storyline, but for a book based on the premise of this alien game, I feel like the stats and level progression of the characters aren't very well explained. That quantifiable measure of a character's strength and personal growth is a keystone for the litrpg genre, and this series definitely under utilizes that aspect. So, while this technically fits the genre, expect something more like the Hunger Games with a UI.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good i actuelly doing a review

The story is great, it progresses really good and There is allways something to Think about or fear for The MC. Natalie Duke performance well.

The only downside i have to point one out is that i Ca t wait for The net book to show up :)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not just pretty good - very good

Other reviewers a little too spare in their praise. As advertised this book is for fans of Hunger Games, although a bit less Ender’s Game and Ready Player One, but there are still some parallels. The book this reminds me of was The Never Hero and the Never Paradox.

The author is very creative and the narrator was good, although could have let loose a little and invested in the emotional bits (a challenge most narrators fail at).

The story was very eventful and steady paced, but accelerated at the end. Would have liked to see not so much glossed over at the end like the last trials or action reconnaissance.

Looking forward to next book.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

pretty good

Overall i enjoyed this one it was a bit slow moving with a lot of emo drama between plot story The end was pretty unsatisfying and with a ridiculous charater reversal with out much in the way of answers to questions that were asked and teased through most of the book.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Phil K.
  • 09-14-18

Teenage TV series in book form.

Seems like the author is hoping for a TV deal, no one can blame them, for it to be made into a series that will run and run.
ok I guess but I'm not from that age group.
Narrator does a fine job.