Regular price: $21.81

Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free, plus 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals to get you started.
  • After trial, you'll get 3 titles each month: 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals of your choice.
  • Don't like your audiobook? Swap it for free.
  • Cancel anytime and keep your audiobooks.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the Sunday Times best-selling author of The Pool House, this dark and twisty thriller is perfect for fans of BBC's The Replacement, The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances and The Hand That Rocks the Cradle.

You trust your friend, so you'd trust her daughter. Wouldn't you...? 

When an old university friend gets in touch with a request for work experience for her daughter, magazine editor Amy agrees. Twenty-year-old Josie walks into Amy's office, moves into the basement of her Notting Hill house and is soon helping out with her children after Amy's nanny is hit by a car. It seems the natural thing, therefore, for Amy to invite Josie on the family's annual trip to Provence.

When a series of things start to go wrong in their luxurious villa, Amy begins to suspect that Josie isn't quite the friendly presence she appears. But when no one, not even her husband, believes her, she realises she will have to play Josie at her own game in order to expose her true intentions....

Don't miss this gripping, addictive listen. You'll never see a houseguest in the same way again....

©2018 Tasmina Perry (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-17-19

Great story

Loved this book, great story that didn’t go where expected or typical
Was gripped with all the characters
Recommend for a lightweight fun listen

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • juan
  • 11-25-18

Glamorous, Intelligent, Intriguing, unusual!

I really enjoyed this unusual thriller with a plot that I did not come close to guessing - and although it did require a modicum of suspension of disbelief it was not so wildly far fetched that it spoiled the book In fact it finished strongly and did not disappoint.
I loved the insight into the editorship of a glossy fashion magazine and the juggling that requires when that editor is a mum and wife to a successful man.
But dreary domestic drama it was NOT! For off to the south of France we went along with loads of colourful characters and to plenty of events and parties - then to fashion week in New York. I thought it was very well crafted and I liked the characters and the then and now structure which gave us an insight into Oxford student life and of course the fabulous balls and fashion worn to them.
I think this book would be a lovely one to take on holidays as it is a relaxing, uplifting, indulgent read with plenty of drama and twists but nothing grisly, gritty or depressing.
Deryn Edwards did a very engaging, polished, professional and intelligent read as usual and she is fast becoming one of my favourite narrators though she did get tripped up with the pronunciation of Chi-chi and Anais Anais but otherwise flawless.
This book held my attention over the few days it took me to read it and I was kept entertained solidly the whole way though. Not sure if I actually liked any of the characters too much but they were very interesting and believable.
Good solid 4 stars with extra marks for insight into the publishing world and its struggle to remain current and relevant in a world of online media and news ....plus the lovely trip to the South of France, New York and some luxury houses!
I will look for more books by this author for sure and just a lovely, luscious read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Helen Carolan
  • 10-14-18

Another great listen

brilliant. Tasmina Perry at her usual best! Read well with great feeling 😁 Roll on next year's book

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • san2har
  • 08-24-18

Superficial world of fashion

Dreadful, superficial characters even the children. I did quite enjoy the book which was well narrated but was secretly hoping that everything would come crashing down for Amy. But it didn’t in the end. Juliet”S revenge really was completely far fetched and Josie and Karen were we’re almost caricatures.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful