Regular price: $38.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The Wrath and the Dawn meets Snow White and the Huntsman in this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of the Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl's quest to become empress. 

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her. 

Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins - sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute. 

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queen will devour this stunning debut. 

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying PDF will be available in your Audible Library along with the audio.

©2017 Julie C. Dao (P)2017 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"A richly developed fantasy world... Julie C. Dao is a talent to watch." (Marie Lu, number-one New York Times best-selling author of The Young Elites)
"A masterful reimagining of the early life of Snow White's Evil Queen." ( Booklist)
"Lushly written...tantalizing reading." ( Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

main character is selfish and not kind book i lik

the book was slow and boring. the main character is selfish. sorry wasn't 4 me.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great if you love political climbing stories!

If you love stories about people scraping their way through the political machinations of a monarchy, this is wonder. Beautifully written and told. Set in a Chinese influenced nation with rich folklore and mythological beings playing into the main action. This story is ultimately not my cup of tea, but that is no knock on the quality of this story. The performance is fantastic and i really enjoyed the reader.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't wait for book 2!!!!

I loved this book. The story slowly unfolds and reveals the twisted underbelly of what greed can do a person's soul.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow. Just wow.

Such a massively entertaining story. Based (?) on Snow White, it was fun trying to see which characters would be which and Ms. Dao does a fantastic job of investing you in every single character even with all the twists and turns and even after you figure out who the "bad" guys are.

I so cannot wait for the sequel.

The narrator does a great job with all the different characters. Even tho she doesn't have even close to a "masculine" voice she pulls off every character with just inflection and great character acting.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Phenomenal

Loved this story and how dark it went, truly devious and need to continue this series for sure! Love the chinese influence and just the whole system of emperors etc.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Great Premise! Just Not Executed Well

Would you try another book from Julie C. Dao and/or Kim Mai Guest?

I would definitely try another book by Julie C. Doa. She seems to have potential to be a great author!

What do you think your next listen will be?

Currently, I'm listening to Journey to Star Wars: Leia Princess of Alderaan by Claudia Grey and The Secret Life of Anna Blanc by Jennifer Kincheloe.

What aspect of Kim Mai Guest’s performance would you have changed?

I would definitely have made her voice more lively. It was monotoned throughout most of the book. She did great in portraying the male characters. However, the female characters sounded the same.

Did Forest of a Thousand Lanterns inspire you to do anything?

It quickly became a chore listening to this audiobook. Many times I contemplated returning it for a new audiobook. However, I forced myself to finish it. It was such a boring listen! The audiobook listens like a long drawn-out prologue. There was not much of a plot, and all the characters are one-dimensional. I will not listen or re-read this book again.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Different Take on an Evil Queen Retelling

I'm a little divided on how I feel about this book. On one hand, I enjoyed it. On another, I found some parts just to slow. I felt a little angry with Xifeng because she was so hung up on her beauty and what her "aunt" made her believe was her destiny. I loved the East Asian setting a lot though. This story was ok, but not as great as I had hoped.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved this book!

I really enjoyed the narrator.
Xie Fung's characyer development was excellent.

This was great, I highly recommend this to anyone.