Your audiobook is waiting…

Flamingo Boy

Narrated by: George Blagden
Length: 5 hrs and 56 mins
Categories: Kids, Ages 8-10
4.5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo in the vein of Private Peaceful and The Butterfly Lion

This is a landmark new novel from the nation's favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents' farm among the salt flats and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn't understand, but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine and music, too, and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel. 

But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart. 

Only there's a kind sergeant among the Germans - a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken - and maybe even the whole town.... 

©2018 Michael Morpurgo (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"Please invite this wonderful story in, you won't regret it. History is rarely more movingly alive." (Morris Gleitzman)

Praise for Michael Morpurgo: "Michael Morpurgo writes brilliantly about war and animals, conveying the big emotions without preaching." (Guardian)

"Champagne quality over a wide range of subjects." (Daily Telegraph)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-02-20

Wonderful.

I was pre-reading this for my 16 year old with Autism because he gets worried about books with WW2 themes but I didn’t expect to love it so much! I loved it because of the Autism theme, but also because of everything else. Narrator was perfect. Buying the hard copy for my kids.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael
  • Michael
  • 11-20-18

Classic Morpurgo

As usual Michael Morpurgo draws you in with strong lovable characters. Beautiful story and very well narrated