We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Watch Me Disappear Audiobook

Watch Me Disappear: A Novel

Regular Price:$31.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A beautiful Berkeley mom with a radical past vanishes while hiking, leaving her family to piece together her secrets, in this keenly observed novel for fans of Emma Straub and Maria Semple - from the best-selling author of All We Ever Wanted Was Everything.

©2017 Janelle Brown (P)2017 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (171 )
5 star
 (79)
4 star
 (52)
3 star
 (33)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.1 (160 )
5 star
 (70)
4 star
 (45)
3 star
 (36)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.3 (161 )
5 star
 (87)
4 star
 (41)
3 star
 (26)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    ACV 08-14-17
    ACV 08-14-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really sucked me in..."

    I like this author, she is honest and writes from a personal place which brings authenticity to her characters and settings.
    First of all this is a unique perspective, like a twist of Rebecca. We care so much about a person whose presence is so powerful and magnetic yet we learn about her fascinating identity in a secondary way. I loved this.

    There is something about the people in this book that make you want to keep reading, you fall in love with them Before the story gets really interesting.

    So I do tend to try and guess the twist or ending when I'm watching movies or reading and this one was well written. There were several detective moments where I had to piece together the facts and determine red herrings- it was fun.

    This was a double dipper for me, I missed the setting and the people. They're well written. Janelle brown is not a fluff writer, she's sophisticated and interesting as are the women she writes about. I wanted more.

    The narrator is nice, she does Olive well and has that weird guttural "male" voice but it's ok.

    The ending...you're feelings about it will depend on how well rounded the experience of this book will be. I needed some time to think it over, all of it. No spoilers here!

    Some people will relate to this story better than others, honestly probably upper mid class women in there 30s/40s and that's okay. Enjoy.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Devin Allred 08-10-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Wonderful Story!"

    A wonderful debut novel. Can't wait to hear from this author again!--Thanks Janelle!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark Gaffney 11-02-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Predictable"

    The book only had one try twist that surprised me (Ryan). The rest was not just predictable but somewhat boring at times. Still, it had a little life with the stories of Billies younger years.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deborah Dainton 10-05-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "wow"

    The story kept me wondering and hooked until the end. I really enjoyed the plot.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Louise 10-03-17
    Louise 10-03-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Tedious"

    Not sure if it was the narration or the narration and the story that made this so tedious. The female narrator was overly emotive and the characters weren't compelling. Went on too long.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    RENEE ROSSI 09-05-17
    RENEE ROSSI 09-05-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    51
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    86
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    11
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I really enjoyed this book!"
    Any additional comments?

    I read the mixed reviews on this book and thought i would take a chance, I have to say I am really glad I did! I ended up really liking these characters, and i found myself wanting to listen more. Some parts although unrealistic weaved a story of how a you can never really know someone and how some people will only show you parts of themselves. There is no good or bad, just Human imperfection. No spoilers here, but i loved that there was no questions left unanswered in the end ... the author really ties everything up nicely so that there is no guessing. Two thumbs up from me!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Pepin-Robtoy Vermont 08-27-17
    Lisa Pepin-Robtoy Vermont 08-27-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Predictable"

    After reading other reviews I was hopeful for more suspense. No such luck. I felt like it was an okay listen, but slow to move. I also felt like it was a predictable ending.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anonymous 08-25-17
    08-25-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth passing over"

    This book had a lot of potential to be excellent. I chose it due to the high number of positive reviews here on Audible but realized, around chapter 13 when it was going down the toilet, that almost all were written by individuals who'd received it free for their review (which tends to push people towards positivity whether they mean to or not). In a similar vein to Gone Girl, this book turns what appears to be a happy story on its head, revealing a selfish woman who's spent her entire life manipulating people. It was, however, not nearly as compelling or exciting as Gone Girl (nor insane), and the difference of the main character having a daughter made me hate her a little more. Lie to your husband with an abnormally elaborate plan to ruin his life, you're a sociopath; lie to your child and pull away from her, you're just cruel.

    The end was feeling a little stronger, especially around chapter 17, and I thought the book might redeem itself (that she'd been in contact with her first child whom she'd placed for adoption rather than having an extramarital affair felt a little cushier, a little easier to swallow), there was then a horrible epilogue that tied everything up far too neatly and answered what I believe should have ultimately been left as unanswered questions. They were implied already, and it felt too forced.

    There are several other thrillers out there that are far better written, with less contrived plot lines and more desirable characters, so I'd skip this one altogether.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. Morgenstern 08-23-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Disappointing . "

    Didn't like any of the characters. Overly precise diction of the narrator was annoying. The main character was hateful. Yuk.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jason E Burgher 08-19-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "excellent book"

    The twists and turns in this book are great, keeps you guessing till literally the very end!!!!! A must read!!!!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.