We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Silver Linings Playbook Audiobook

The Silver Linings Playbook: A Novel

Regular Price:$20.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

During his years in a neural-health facility, Pat Peoples has formulated a theory about silver linings. He believes that his life is a movie produced by God, that his mission is to become physically fit and emotionally supportive, and that if he succeeds, his happy ending will be the return of his estranged wife, Nikki.

When Pat goes to live with his parents, everything seems changed: no one will talk to him about Nikki, and his new therapist seems to be recommending adultery as a form of therapy. Then, Pat meets clinically depressed widow Tiffany, who offers to act as a liaison between him and his wife - provided he agrees to a secret contract that includes giving up football and performing in the next Dance Away Depression competition.

©2008 Matthew Quick; (P)2008 Blackstone Audio

What the Critics Say

"This offbeat story has all the markings of a crowd-pleaser." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (3272 )
5 star
 (1613)
4 star
 (1124)
3 star
 (402)
2 star
 (82)
1 star
 (51)
Overall
4.3 (2956 )
5 star
 (1493)
4 star
 (946)
3 star
 (390)
2 star
 (83)
1 star
 (44)
Story
4.4 (2951 )
5 star
 (1697)
4 star
 (926)
3 star
 (255)
2 star
 (39)
1 star
 (34)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Lee HOUSTON, TX, United States 05-31-14
    Lee HOUSTON, TX, United States 05-31-14 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinating story from a psychological standpoint."
    Where does The Silver Linings Playbook rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    It is a book that I would recommend to others.


    What other book might you compare The Silver Linings Playbook to and why?

    I would compare it to other books whose narrator and main character is one who is afflicted with a psychological disease. It was fascinating! It was a completely different story than the movie, by the way. But, Jennifer Lawrence was perfect for the movie. I thought the book was fantastic.


    Have you listened to any of Ray Porter’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No, I have not. I LOVED Ray Porter's performance. I have not heard him read before, but will search him out again. He portrayed the character perfectly, in my opinion.


    Any additional comments?

    Interesting book to read. I love books that get into the human psyche and why people act, think and feel they way they do.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rachel YAKIMA, WA, United States 05-03-14
    Rachel YAKIMA, WA, United States 05-03-14 Member Since 2013

    I am a clay sculptor and an art instructor at a community college. I mostly listen to audiobooks while I work in my home studio.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    248
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    167
    93
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not exactly my style"

    I didn't want to stop listening, so I guess it wasn't that bad but I get the impression other people liked it. I found the protagonist annoying and I didn't really care what he did, which meant I didn't really care what happened in the book. If I were reading this as a physical book and I lost it, I wouldn't try to find it.
    As an audio file, however, I finished it. The writing is decent, no problems, so if you like sappy stories and immature slightly annoying by basically harmless characters, go for it.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Annie M. 04-23-13
    Annie M. 04-23-13 Member Since 2009

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1228
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    188
    82
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    214
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Listened to it after the movie--loved both!"
    Would you listen to The Silver Linings Playbook again? Why?

    I was quite fascinated by the transformation of this funny, sad, touching tale from book to movie. I thought Ray Porter hit just the right notes with each character. I found myself laughing out loud, and crying a bit. Just like during the movie.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I am always captivated by characters who endeavor to create a beautiful life for themselves, even though life hasn't done them any favors to begin with. I also loved the fact that Mathew Quick was able to bring out the humor in what is a difficult situatuion, showing that "funny" can be found just about anywhere, if you're willing to open your heart.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    There is no particular scene that stands out for me, but I really loved the interactions between Pat and his psychiatrist (and fellow Eagles FANatic), Cliff. There was so much gentle wisdom there. I also liked the idea that, within ourselves, we can almost always find the right answer...if we just can quiet ourselves long enough to listen.


    Who was the most memorable character of The Silver Linings Playbook and why?

    Obviously, the two main characters stand out for me. I especially loved Pat's sweetness, which keeps coming out despite people constantly misunderstanding him. You simply cannot stop yourself from rooting for him.


    Any additional comments?

    For fans of the movie, this book version offers a glimpse into the world of screen writing. It is really interesting to see how the book was a springboard for the film, yet the two are quite different.<br/><br/>I bought this book because 1) it was on sale and 2) another reviewer commented that it was the perfect companion to the movie. Even though the two versions differ, both are beautifully crafted, funny, and insightful.<br/><br/>For fans of books like TRUTH IN ADVERTISING, ONE LAST THING BEFORE I GO, and BRIDGET JONES' DIARY. Oh, yeah...and also for fans of the Oscar-winning movie version.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Greg Wichita, KS, United States 03-29-13
    Greg Wichita, KS, United States 03-29-13 Member Since 2010

    Tell us about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    102
    55
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Is the movie better than the book???"

    The narration was great and the story moved right along, but there was nothing earth shattering or surprising. I kept hoping for a twist, but alas - nothing abnormal. I will watch the movie and see what all the fuss was about.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anika S. 06-19-17
    Anika S. 06-19-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better than the movie"

    I definitely should have read this before I saw the movie, such an amazing book

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tegan Smith Melbourne, Victoria Australia 06-18-17
    Tegan Smith Melbourne, Victoria Australia 06-18-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting story"

    Interesting story from a mental health perspective. Was a bit annoyed at the narrator's voice when he was reading women's voices but overall a good listen.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 06-08-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pleasantly surprised"

    Expecting more of a sports-themed story, I found that the characters pulled me in and left me with no need for heavier sports references. This story was just right.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Theresa Virginia 06-01-17
    Theresa Virginia 06-01-17 Member Since 2012

    Avid listener. I listen to almost 1 book per week - listen while running, biking, driving, doing laundry. Blacksburg, VA

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    176
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Way Better than the Movie"
    What made the experience of listening to The Silver Linings Playbook the most enjoyable?

    A realistic recovery during a battle with mental illness. While the movie plays up the love story, it takes a back seat in the book and you get to learn more about Pat's issues and how he copes and learns.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The silver lining


    Which character – as performed by Ray Porter – was your favorite?

    Pat Peeples Jr.


    If you could take any character from The Silver Linings Playbook out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    Pat. I share certain traits


    Any additional comments?

    I actually saw the movie first and thought it was OK. Read the book recently and LOVED it. So I went back and watched the movie to see if maybe my memories were just off. The movie portrays a story so very different than the book that it makes me really sad. Many of the characters have lost their trademarks or their influence in Pat's life is vastly underscored.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lincoln Florida 05-01-17
    Lincoln Florida 05-01-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow what a suprise!"

    such an amazing book! I thought it was a sappy love story but it is not! such a wonderful.perspextive on psycholoigal pain. I am so glad I read this.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    green ice cream garden miramar, FL United States 04-14-17
    green ice cream garden miramar, FL United States 04-14-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1058
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    338
    337
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    40
    19
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Double review"

    Book - 3.5/ Movie - 5/ Total review = 4 stars

    It wasn't the football that annoyed me, just why did it have to be the Eagles. I loved the book, don't get me wrong, but the obsession with Nikki went too far for me. Plus, the friendship with Tiffany? Throughout the book it seemed like there wasn't much of a friendship really. All in all though I would recommend it. (Oh, and I loved the Asian invasion!) I won't say the movie is better because in this rare case it's comparing apples to oranges, but it crushed my heart and made me happy at the same time. These two actors have great chemistry and I can never pass on a movie with De Niro. So do both book and movie.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.