We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Potato Factory Audiobook

The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

Regular Price:$34.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Always leave a little salt on the bread...

Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

In the backstreets and dives of Hobart Town, Mary learns the art of brewing and builds The Potato Factory, where she plans a new future. But her ambitions are threatened by Ikey's wife, Hannah, her old enemy. The two women raise their separate families, one legitimate and the other bastard. As each woman sets out to destroy the other, the families are brought to the edge of disaster.

©1995 Bryce Courtenay; (P)2000 Bolinda Publishing Pyt Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Group (Australia)

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Courtenay creates a unique cast of characters from the outset of this epic novel....Humphrey Bower's performance is a marvel...making this one of those rare books with a sweep of characters the readers come to care about deeply." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (4760 )
5 star
 (2828)
4 star
 (1267)
3 star
 (390)
2 star
 (139)
1 star
 (136)
Overall
4.4 (3662 )
5 star
 (2273)
4 star
 (902)
3 star
 (282)
2 star
 (112)
1 star
 (93)
Story
4.6 (3661 )
5 star
 (2754)
4 star
 (637)
3 star
 (166)
2 star
 (48)
1 star
 (56)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Julie Le Center, MN, USA 02-13-16
    Julie Le Center, MN, USA 02-13-16 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    137
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    244
    60
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Modern Dickens"

    Loved the great sympathy for the plight of the underclasses plus this is a dang good story. The characters will stay withe forever. Can't wait to get to the next in the series

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SHELLY HARRISON ADRIAN, MISSOURI United States 02-11-16
    SHELLY HARRISON ADRIAN, MISSOURI United States 02-11-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    80
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I absolutely loved this story. "

    took me a bit at first to get into the book but then I couldn't put it down! loved it! can't wait to get the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charlie D. 10-20-15
    Charlie D. 10-20-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A wonderful story..."

    Didn't know anything about Australia [except for the wonderful description of the Aussie success in Why Nations Fail]. This book gave me a bunch more, in a very entertaining manner.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Monnie J Heisler 09-07-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    67
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exception on the second read"

    Thanks Bryce and Humphrey! You two write and perform with exceptional talent! I am as drawn in by the characters and storyline as I was the first time reading!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K. Lilienthal 08-03-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    143
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great tale by Bryce Courtenay!"

    This is the 4th Courtenay book I've read, and I was not disappointed. Can't wait to start the next book in the series. Narration by Humphrey Bower was terrific!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    brian odom 07-24-15
    brian odom 07-24-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful story"

    Fantastic historical fiction with an all-time great antihero. A great story with profound characters that captures both the good and the bad in the people and world of Ikey Solomon.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah 07-08-15
    Sarah 07-08-15 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it more than I imagined I would!"

    Blew me away. A touching, lovely and beautiful story. Brilliantly narrated, with great cadence and voice inflexion.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. James 07-06-15
    J. James 07-06-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thrilling history"

    Easy to listen to , learned a little.. Finding a new series to go through

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jill 06-24-15
    Jill 06-24-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!!!"

    It was perfect! Humphrey is amazing at reading the story. I couldn't wait to listen. 24 hours well spent.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Baysmom04 06-12-15
    Baysmom04 06-12-15 Member Since 2015

    Baysmom04

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"
    Would you listen to The Potato Factory again? Why?

    No. There are too many others that I want to listen to!


    What did you like best about this story?

    Rich characters, beautifully descriptive setting!


    What does Humphrey Bower bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Absolutely!


    If you could take any character from The Potato Factory out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    I would love to meet Hawk and Tommo.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.