We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Lost Letter Audiobook

The Lost Letter: A Novel

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers in World War II Austria and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heartbreaking, heartwarming story for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.

Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amid the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her - and himself.

Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce, and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.

A romantic, poignant and addictive novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.

©2017 Jillian Cantor (P)2017 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (380 )
5 star
 (220)
4 star
 (110)
3 star
 (38)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.4 (356 )
5 star
 (216)
4 star
 (89)
3 star
 (39)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.4 (359 )
5 star
 (221)
4 star
 (90)
3 star
 (33)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jacqui Marrickville, Australia 06-24-17
    Jacqui Marrickville, Australia 06-24-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    344
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I loved this book"

    My father was Jewish & left Vienna when he was 25 with his mother & sister in May 1938. They lost everything but he started a new life here in Australia. He died in 1986 & I was so sad that he didn't live to see the Wall come down. This book was bittersweet to me and I am so glad I read it. It was marvellous.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer Masterson 06-22-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    92
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This was absolutely fantastic!!!"

    I have goosebumps right now! Hands down "The Lost Letter" is my favorite book of 2017 and I'm not a big fan of historical fiction! If I could give this novel 10 stars I would! "The Lost Letter" has all the feels, beautiful writing, and a fantastic story!

    There are two storylines in this novel. Part of this book takes place in 1989 and the other part takes place in 1938.

    In one storyline Katie lives in California and is the daughter of a stamp collector. It's 1989 and she comes upon an unopened letter with an unusual stamp on it. She is going through a divorce and her father is living in a home due to his late stage of Alzheimer's.

    In the other storyline it's 1938 and The Faber Family is living in Austria. They are a Jewish family. Kristoff, is Frederick Faber's apprentice. He is learning to be a stamp engraver. He eventually finds himself falling in love with one of Frederick's daughters and becomes involved in the resistance.

    These two storylines eventually come together. The author, Jillian Cantor, does a fantastic job of making this happen, smoothly.

    I listened to the audio version. It's fabulous! The narrators are terrific. I highly recommend this version if you enjoy audio!

    By the way, I think this would make for a great book group discussion. I also think it would make a great movie! Do not miss out on this book! It's wonderful!

    Highly highly recommended!!!

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Delores 08-09-17
    Delores 08-09-17 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "WWII blockbuster"

    This is one of the best books I've listened to. Hooked me beginning to end. Loveable characters. Loved learning a little new stuff about stamps.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs. Monica Disabato 07-28-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautifully written"

    Thought provoking story on many levels.
    Enjoyed the shift between times.
    The story will stay with me for a long time.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Apryl 07-12-17
    Apryl 07-12-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful story"

    What a beautiful story. The characters were easy to love and you felt the struggle and pain they were going through. It was a hard book to put down. I'm sad it's over and will be thinking about the characters for a long time.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joy E Freschy 07-09-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Didn't want to stop listening..."

    I enjoyed the narrator's voice & the story really drew me in, more than I expected! An enjoyable listen all around!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tienna 06-23-17
    Tienna 06-23-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful, sweet story!"

    Loved this book!
    Such a good story!
    A really great one to listen to.
    I wish there was more!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nordic Artisan 11-16-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome! A rare experience in literature!"

    If you are looking for a book that keeps you going back to to it (like an obsession), until the end, this is it!

    This book has it all, history, entwined with irony and relationship, as well as a connection with recent history.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ruth Lambert New Haven, Connecticut 11-14-17
    Ruth Lambert New Haven, Connecticut 11-14-17 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    65
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    69
    41
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Suspend all skepticism before reading..."

    This well written and well paced book is also completely UNBELIEVABLE in its denouement. That was actually okay with me -- after all, life is often stranger than fiction! — but the "OMG" reading made this book annoying after a while.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    BARB ROZANSKI 10-29-17 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful book"

    What a wonderful book, A+ read
    Totally recommend this book
    It’s a warm feeling book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.