Regular price: $28.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers in World War II Austria and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heartbreaking, heartwarming story for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.

Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amid the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her - and himself.

Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce, and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.

A romantic, poignant and addictive novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.

©2017 Jillian Cantor (P)2017 Penguin Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    513
  • 4 Stars
    242
  • 3 Stars
    74
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    483
  • 4 Stars
    204
  • 3 Stars
    74
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    9

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    479
  • 4 Stars
    212
  • 3 Stars
    74
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    10
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This was absolutely fantastic!!!

I have goosebumps right now! Hands down "The Lost Letter" is my favorite book of 2017 and I'm not a big fan of historical fiction! If I could give this novel 10 stars I would! "The Lost Letter" has all the feels, beautiful writing, and a fantastic story!

There are two storylines in this novel. Part of this book takes place in 1989 and the other part takes place in 1938.

In one storyline Katie lives in California and is the daughter of a stamp collector. It's 1989 and she comes upon an unopened letter with an unusual stamp on it. She is going through a divorce and her father is living in a home due to his late stage of Alzheimer's.

In the other storyline it's 1938 and The Faber Family is living in Austria. They are a Jewish family. Kristoff, is Frederick Faber's apprentice. He is learning to be a stamp engraver. He eventually finds himself falling in love with one of Frederick's daughters and becomes involved in the resistance.

These two storylines eventually come together. The author, Jillian Cantor, does a fantastic job of making this happen, smoothly.

I listened to the audio version. It's fabulous! The narrators are terrific. I highly recommend this version if you enjoy audio!

By the way, I think this would make for a great book group discussion. I also think it would make a great movie! Do not miss out on this book! It's wonderful!

Highly highly recommended!!!

22 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Finally! A Great One!

Lately, I'm not having much luck with finding good, solid audiobooks, but this one was fantastic for sure! It kept me wanting to hear every single word! It's a story that leaves you asking, can we actually become different people, based on where we are and the circumstances surrounding us at the time. Make sure to have the tissues at hand near the end of the book. Interesting to learn that the making of stamps was yet another creative way of sending messages during WW II. As for the narration, it too was pretty good! Don't hesitate purchasing this audiobook! It's worth the T credit!!!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVED THIS STORY!

I have listened to so many stories of WW2, many of which I feel so sad and depressed at how we can do this to our fellow humans. But this story blends 1939 with 1989. The story touches the horrors of WW2 but moves back and forth to the future. Loved the characters, narrators and story! Can't wait to hear more from the author and narrators!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved this book

My father was Jewish & left Vienna when he was 25 with his mother & sister in May 1938. They lost everything but he started a new life here in Australia. He died in 1986 & I was so sad that he didn't live to see the Wall come down. This book was bittersweet to me and I am so glad I read it. It was marvellous.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrator ruined it

The story has a great premise but the narrator for Katie was awful. She spoke with a cadence that got old very quickly. She took a lead character that was searching and made her a clueless idiot. Her reading of conversational passages was horrible. Totally unnatural.I got through the end of a good story despite the narrator but it was hard work.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written

Thought provoking story on many levels.
Enjoyed the shift between times.
The story will stay with me for a long time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful story

What a beautiful story. The characters were easy to love and you felt the struggle and pain they were going through. It was a hard book to put down. I'm sad it's over and will be thinking about the characters for a long time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, sweet story!

Loved this book!
Such a good story!
A really great one to listen to.
I wish there was more!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Middle of the road WW2 novel with bad narration

I definitely feel like I'm in the minority with this one. The writing was fine, the story was sweet, but it was nothing special. If anything, it was a bit too saccharine for all the unbelievable consequences scattered around the plot. I love WW2 literature, but if I'm honest, this might be the book that breaks this camel's back... think I might be officially burnt out.

I also had narration issues : while the male narrator was fantastic, the female narrator was awful. Made Katie sound both 90 years old and completely ditzy and uninterested all at the same time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Predictable

Sorry to admit this, but I think I'm burned out on WWII stories. This one just seemed predictable. No suspense, every plot twist was totally expected. Narration was just OK.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful