Regular price: $13.85

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Mum always knows best....

The stunning debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Meet the daughters of Iris Parker. Dee, sensitive and big-hearted; Rose, uptight and controlled; and Fleur, the reckless free spirit.

At the reading of their mother's will, the three estranged women are aghast to discover that their inheritance comes with very tricky strings attached. If they are to inherit her wealth, they must spend a series of weekends together over the course of a year and carry out their mother's bucket list.

But one year doesn't seem like nearly enough time for them to move past the decades-old layers of squabbles and misunderstandings. Can they grow up for once and see that Iris' bucket list was about so much more than money?

©2017 Cathy Hopkins (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Warm, wise and full of heart.... I absolutely loved this book." (Lucy Diamond, author of Summer at Shell Cottage)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mama C
  • 07-06-17

Interesting, shame about the 'self-helpidness'

What did you like most about The Kicking the Bucket List?

Good story, well narrated and poignant

What did you like best about this story?

The characters were great and believable...

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I found it engaging, but as the story moved on I couldn't help wondering if it might be better on the self-help section. It's attention to detail in the loss and grieving process started to disengage my interest as a novel, but could easily see how it would be helpful to others.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ann D
  • 09-24-17

Intelligent chic lit!

I can’t bear standard chic lit, full of one cliche after another. I won’t consider any book with cupcakes or Italian sea shores on the cover. I took a chance on this though after a 5*, but particularly tough going book on domestic abuse. I needed something light before returning to my favourite crime fiction genre. This is a tale of mature women, sisters, forced together after their mother’s death. It was a good read/listen. I could have done without the excessive ‘love interest’, but even that was handled differently to the usual chic lit. All in all, recommended.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • ShiriBiri
  • 07-23-17

Anyone with a complex relationship with their siblings will relate

Really beautifully narrated, and the story is very compelling. It describes very gently and beautifully a complex relationship between the three sisters in older age, and gently reminds us things aren't always what they seem in life. Truly heartwarming. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • michele Charlton
  • 06-29-17

fab u louse

loved it, didn't want it to end, it was funny and sad and up lifting

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • lucy
  • 04-26-17

Amazing

I really enjoyed this book. The story was mesmerising. Funny, poignant and absorbing. I laughed and cried frequently. Extremely impressed and highly recommended. One of those books that has affected me quite deeply and that I won't forget

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • KyahRidgeback
  • 02-22-18

Great book, excellent narrator, really enjoyed it!

What made the experience of listening to The Kicking the Bucket List the most enjoyable?

Narrator, Juanita McMahon, really brought the book to life and made Dee a really interesting character - one you want to hear more from. The other two narrators were very good too.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Dee. As the main character it was very easy to become invested in her and her journey.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

Any with Iris and her friends!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I listen to audiobooks before I go to sleep but found that I was actually staying awake to hear more. Not good for sleeping but says a lot about the story.

Any additional comments?

I will definitely be listening to more books with Juanita McMahon as narrator and more from Cathy Hopkins.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ms. C_O'S
  • 02-18-18

Great Story

Thourly enjoyed this book from start to finish. An inspirational story to lift you up.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Elke
  • 02-13-18

I grew quite fond of 'the flower girls'...

This was an easy listen; a charming little story... Although I wasn't gripped by it at first, I grew quite fond of 'the flower girls' Dee, Rose and Fleur, and their lovable, slightly crazy, late mother Iris. Well worth a listen to - I enjoyed it all the way through.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Love audio
  • 02-12-18

The kicking the bucket list

Loved this very much and I wish my mum had videoed herself with messages to keep and cherished before she was too poorly to do so.

Fun, sad, life’s lessons for happiness...

A great listen for anyone who’s lost or not.
Thank you Cathy Hopkins

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-11-18

A thoroughly enjoyable listen

A beautifully written book, sad in parts but felt uplifting still. Anyone with siblings I’m sure can relate to much of it. I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish.