Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, this lush imaginative novel takes listeners into the heart of a mysterious English country garden waiting to spring to life.

Every garden is a story waiting to be told....

At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.

Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife, Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried - and failed - to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment.

Intrigued by the house's history - especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls - and increasingly drawn to Stella's enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden's destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets....

©2017 Ellen Herrick (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

thoroughly enjoyable. will listen again!

beautiful story especially for anyone who appreciates thinking hearing musing about Gardens and growing gardens. I believe this narration was the best narration that I've ever heard on audio books. I am going to look for more books narrated by this reader.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I really really wanted to love this book

Would you try another book from Ellen Herrick and/or Fiona Hardingham?

Not sure. I would wait for reviews. After absolutely loving The Sorrel sisters, I could not wait for this book. But sadly, I was very disappointed. I simply never was interested or vested in any of the characters.

What do you think your next listen will be?

I'm reading reviews much more closely.

Did the narration match the pace of the story?

Narration was fine. The material was simply not interesting.

Do you think The Forbidden Garden needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

No.

Any additional comments?

I almost turned the book back in for my credit back twice. But I kept thinking I was missing something. Sadly, I was not.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another great story

I really enjoy her writing. Was a great story with lots of interesting twist and turns.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable and charming

I liked this book maybe a bit more than her first, The Sparrow Sisters, possibly because o like the narrator much more. the story is good too and I got into it. Full of good characters and am enviable setting complete with delicious sounding food.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good story, great narration

I loved it. You really need to read book one first. The narration really has made the story come alive. What's next!?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enchanting

The narrator is mesmerizing as she reads this enchanting tale. The authors painted a peaceful setting for mysterious plot. I will go back and read the first novel to hear more on the Sparrow sisters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enchanting as well as floral

What a lovely read ! Ellen Hedrick has created a beautiful story and Fiona Hardingham has such an enchanting narrative.