We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Forbidden Garden Audiobook

The Forbidden Garden: A Novel

Regular Price:$28.51
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, this lush imaginative novel takes listeners into the heart of a mysterious English country garden waiting to spring to life.

Every garden is a story waiting to be told....

At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.

Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife, Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried - and failed - to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment.

Intrigued by the house's history - especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls - and increasingly drawn to Stella's enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden's destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets....

©2017 Ellen Herrick (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (19 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (18 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.6 (18 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Angela Nazareth, PA, United States 10-08-17
    Angela Nazareth, PA, United States 10-08-17 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    113
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enchanting"

    The narrator is mesmerizing as she reads this enchanting tale. The authors painted a peaceful setting for mysterious plot. I will go back and read the first novel to hear more on the Sparrow sisters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michal Scotsdale, AZ, United States 08-05-17
    Michal Scotsdale, AZ, United States 08-05-17 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    176
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    221
    69
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I really really wanted to love this book"
    Would you try another book from Ellen Herrick and/or Fiona Hardingham?

    Not sure. I would wait for reviews. After absolutely loving The Sorrel sisters, I could not wait for this book. But sadly, I was very disappointed. I simply never was interested or vested in any of the characters.


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    I'm reading reviews much more closely.


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    Narration was fine. The material was simply not interesting.


    Do you think The Forbidden Garden needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    No.


    Any additional comments?

    I almost turned the book back in for my credit back twice. But I kept thinking I was missing something. Sadly, I was not.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lesley ann New Orleans, LA 05-20-17
    lesley ann New Orleans, LA 05-20-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "thoroughly enjoyable. will listen again!"

    beautiful story especially for anyone who appreciates thinking hearing musing about Gardens and growing gardens. I believe this narration was the best narration that I've ever heard on audio books. I am going to look for more books narrated by this reader.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lynne m vokatis 04-09-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    49
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enchanting as well as floral"

    What a lovely read ! Ellen Hedrick has created a beautiful story and Fiona Hardingham has such an enchanting narrative.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.