We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$20.65
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (539 )
5 star
 (287)
4 star
 (187)
3 star
 (48)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Overall
4.3 (501 )
5 star
 (252)
4 star
 (178)
3 star
 (52)
2 star
 (12)
1 star
 (7)
Story
4.6 (498 )
5 star
 (327)
4 star
 (137)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • rosalindsarah
    1/27/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"
    If you could sum up The Cuckoo's Calling in three words, what would they be?

    Great paced thriller


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Familiar locations


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    Variety in his voice for different characrers


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    Good story - not gruesome like so many thrillers -

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Rajinder Kaur Atwal
    1/27/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a fantastically written and read book"

    This is a great book. the characters are so realistic and well written. he narrator is brilliant. like harry potter; the characters arent necessarily all that unique but she certainly brings them to life with her amazing writing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Cath
    1/24/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"

    I wholeheartedly recommend this book. Characters are believable, story is rich enough and narrator was fabulous too - thoroughly enjoyable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • jules
    1/22/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely brilliant"

    This is absolutely brilliant. I loved the characters and the story gently rolls along. The narrator is first class.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Adrian N.
    1/20/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable and particularly well written."

    I'm not a huge fan of who done it's but I enjoyed it as it was so well written. Didn't enjoy the worst of the swear words though.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • reztles1
    1/19/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very enjoyable story"

    fantastic mystery, great reading performance. would not hesitate to recommend . thoroughly enjoyed listening to it





    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • kirsty
    1/17/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quite slow"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    Good first audible book overall


    Has The Cuckoo's Calling put you off other books in this genre?

    Yes


    Any additional comments?

    I had the speed of narrator on 1.5 as is slow and skipped some chapters as was a slow story

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Victoria Smythe
    1/17/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A wonderful story taking you into a world of super models , tragedy and dogged determination .. Fabulous"

    So enjoyed this book which I listened to on my daily commute. The story is clever and kept me guessing and the story teller is incredible .... I would chose to listen to this over watching a movie... Captivating and entertaining

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Anne
    1/15/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic"

    Really loved this, the best for me in ages. Very absorbing story and great narration.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mr
    Stockport, United Kingdom
    1/15/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fabulous"
    Where does The Cuckoo's Calling rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    One of the best


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    The whole book


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Great narration.Funny if they make a film then I could see Philip Glennister as Strike


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Totally engrossing


    Any additional comments?

    More please JK than the 3 so far

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.