We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (515 )
5 star
 (273)
4 star
 (178)
3 star
 (48)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (477 )
5 star
 (240)
4 star
 (168)
3 star
 (52)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.6 (475 )
5 star
 (311)
4 star
 (130)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • gillian
    Folkestone, United Kingdom
    11/16/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    The descriptive narrative is relevant and brings the story to life without being long and boring. I was telling my daughter how I had found a new author & was really impressed by the structure and crafting of the plot. She then told me Galbraith is actually JK Rowling so no wonder! Great read, well read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Bernard
    11/16/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "exceptional"

    JK Rowling is exceptional. This book is book gripping and extremely well written. Highly recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs
    11/14/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "not for me"

    good ending I hadn't seen that but otherwise too conventional. lots of swearing and one man. making the police look like idiots.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Gemma
    11/13/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Highly recommended!"
    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    Great narrator, I wouldn't hesitate reading another by him.


    Any additional comments?

    This was my first audio book and thoroughly enjoyed it! Really good story and I didn't guess the ending which was an added bonus.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Venerez
    11/11/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "the narrator is fantastic! !!!"

    I loved it. the narration was fantastic. I can wait to read book 2

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • keithnp
    11/6/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent book"

    Loved it. Great story well written and so well read. I enjoyed every single minute of it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mr M Eliff
    11/5/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "hooked immediately by the characters"

    Loved in. Feel as if I know the streets they walked as well as the main characters. will definitely look forward to the next story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Ms Rachel Done
    UK
    11/3/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Momentum"

    The energy of the narrating. The authors confidence and imagination was
    apparent and gave hope and promise, something healthy in a grim situation. Although a false reality not a danger to the reader s equilibrium.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Lisa
    Belfast, United Kingdom
    11/3/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really enjoyable!"

    The Strike series was recommended to me and I was apprehensive at first, however I became hooked.
    The story wasn't overly complicated like some crime novels and so you weren't bogged down with too much. Flowed really well and characters developed really well.
    The performance was great!
    Looking forward to the other 2 in the series now.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    11/2/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "excellent choice for me"

    this is one of the best books l have listened to. the plot was excellent and the author 's detail to every character and situation kept me guessing right till the end which. did not disappoint .

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.