Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Editorial Reviews

Najin's father, a calligrapher, clings to tradition as the Japanese occupation threatens Korean culture in the early twentieth century. He continually slights his daughter, the curious Najin, who holds back her questions and hides the hurt that comes from her father's insensitivity. If Lorna Raver's mature voice seems a curious choice for the young heroine, her throaty richness becomes more appropriate as the production proceeds. It fits the royalty of the Korean court, where Najin's mother sends her to escape an arranged marriage. Raver's resonance also makes sense as young Najin faces threats beyond her level of maturity. With devotion and strength, Najin works to maintain her family's well-being during times of war and poverty, ignoring her own desires for scholarship and love.

Publisher's Summary

In early-20th-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother---but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king's court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end. In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face?

Spanning 30 years, The Calligrapher's Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom.

©2009 Eugenia Kim; (P)2009 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"A beautiful, deliberate and satisfying story spanning 30 years of Korean history." (Publishers Weekly Starred Review)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loved this book.

Interesting story and history lesson. Beautifully written. We can all learn from the extraordinarily resilient and accomplished people of Korea.