Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A gentle yet unflinching look at how we find our way home, in the tradition of Rebecca Wells, Sue Monk Kidd, Olive Ann Burns, and Dorothy Allison. A woman returns to her West Virginia roots to resolve the ghosts of her childhood.

Tender Graces by Kathryn Magendie is strong literary women's fiction written with exquisite style. The death of her troubled mother and memories of her abused grandmother lure a young woman back to the Appalachian hollow where she was born. Virginia Kate, the daughter of a beautiful mountain wild-child and a slick, Shakespeare-quoting salesman, relives her turbulent childhood and the pain of her mother's betrayals. Haunted by ghosts and buried family secrets, Virginia Kate struggles to reconcile three generations of her family's lost innocence.

©2009 Kathryn Magendie (P)2012 BelleBooks, Inc.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Timeless story -

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes very definitely! This story grabs your heart and never lets go. It dives down deep into your psyche and pulls your own memories of childhood and family to the forefront.

What does Mia Bankston bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Her soft, southern drawl imbibes the story with a sense of conversation - like I was sitting on a porch, sipping sweet tea, listening to a member of my family tell me her memories and her story.

Who was the most memorable character of Tender Graces and why?

All the characters are so well drawn and fleshed out that it's hard to pick the most memorable. For me, it was the mother, Kate. She was so full of secrets and open woundings that she could not get to heal -

Any additional comments?

You will not regret listening to this story - it will haunt your thoughts and quiet moments for days afterwards -

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First impressions

You always hear that first impressions are the best. In the case of Audible's Tender Graces, I did not find that to be true. I purchased this audiobook over 2 years ago and started to listen more than once. Mia Bankston's Southern drawl and melodious tone were so relaxing that I'd lose my focus and my mind would wander. This week I decided to try again and I am so glad that I did not allow my first impression to rule my decision. It is a beautiful telling of a story that could so easily belong to someone's real life. Kathryn Magendie gave me a story with warmth, love, pain, feelings of betrayal, heartbreak, laughter, and a big lump in my throat throughout. The characters were wonderfully real and flawed. It is a real hidden gem.