Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

To save his soul, William Marshal takes the perilous road to Jerusalem, but the greatest danger he faces there is losing his heart.

England, 1219. Lying on his deathbed, William Marshal, England's greatest knight, sends a trusted servant to bring to him the silk Templar burial shrouds that returned with him from the Holy Land 30 years ago. It is time to fulfil his vow to the Templars and become a monk of their order for eternity.

As he waits for the shrouds' return, he looks back upon his long-ago pilgrimage with his brother Ancel and the sacred mission entrusted to them - to bear the cloak of their dead young lord to Jerusalem and lay it on Christ's tomb in the church of the Holy Sepulchre.

Jerusalem, 1183. In the holiest of all cities, the brothers become embroiled in the deadly politics, devious scheming and lusts of the powerful men and women who rule the kingdom. Entangled with the dangerous, mercurial Paschia de Riveri, concubine of the highest churchman in the land, William sets on a path so perilous that there seems no way back for him, or for his brother. Both will pay a terrible price, and their only chance to see home again will be dependent on the Templar shrouds.

In this glorious adventure, best-selling author Elizabeth Chadwick sweeps the listener to medieval Jerusalem in a story perfect for fans of Ken Follett and Philippa Gregory.

©2018 Elizabeth Chadwick (P)2018 Little, Brown Book Group

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Manchester Mama
  • 03-14-18

Beautifully written and very well narrated.

I found this story to be believably written and a wonderful addition to Elizabeth Chadwicks first book about William Marshall. (although it stands alone in its own merit).
Full of rich descriptions of Jerusalem and contrasting scenes of the later time in Caversham, I was particularly drawn to the carefully worded descriptions of the dying man in his last days. Very insightfully portrayed.
This story is extremely well read by Jonathan Keebler. I have truly enjoyed every word and shall seek out further books he has narrated. Recommended.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Su L
  • 03-23-18

Absolutely phenomenal

This book will remain a treasure in my library. The story , the man, the tenderness, and the love portrayed in this book had me weeping at the end as if the demise of William were like losing one of my own. Meticulously researched , skilfully written, and beautifully performed made listening to this book one of pure pleasure and bliss.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Di D
  • 04-12-18

Wonderful story and follow on to The Greatest Knight

Thoroughly enjoyed this book and the story. Well read. Very moving at the end
Recommended

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lizzie
  • 06-03-18

A brilliant story well told

I enjoyed this from start to finish. Believable characters in an interesting story. Jonathan Keeble gave his usual excellent performance and has a voice which is second to none for audiobooks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-22-18

Tedious

such a slow beginning...very disappointing indeed.
Gave up ...the only audio book have given up on ,!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • fran
  • 06-02-18

very slow moving.. got bored.

I find that I've lost interest by a third of the way in and am returning it. Not the author's best book I'm disappointed to say!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • M3GS
  • 05-27-18

More Barbara Cartland than I expected

Could not finish this book, although well written there is simply too much bodice ripping for my taste in historical fiction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alex Parr
  • 05-02-18

loved this book

This is the first book I have read by this author and now I am hunting for my next exciting read! The narrator was excellent and I can't wait to read something more about William Marshall!