We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Long Black Veil Audiobook

Long Black Veil: A Novel

Regular Price:$31.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Donna Tartt and Megan Abbott, a novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past, from the New York Times best-selling author of She's Not There.

On a warm August night in 1980, six college students sneak into the dilapidated ruins of Philadelphia's Eastern State Penitentiary, looking for a thrill. With a pianist, a painter, and a teacher among them, the friends are full of potential. But it's not long before they realize they are locked in - and not alone. When the friends get lost and separated, the terrifying night ends in tragedy, and the unexpected, far-reaching consequences reverberate through the survivors' lives. As they go their separate ways, trying to move on, it becomes clear that their dark night in the prison has changed them all. Decades later, new evidence is found, and the dogged detective investigating the cold case charges one of them - celebrity chef Jon Casey - with murder. Only Casey's old friend Judith Carrigan can testify to his innocence.

But Judith is protecting long-held secrets of her own - secrets that, if brought to light, could destroy her career as a travel writer and tear her away from her fireman husband and teenage son. If she chooses to help Casey, she risks losing the life she has fought to build and the woman she has struggled to become. In any life that contains a "before" and an "after", how is it possible to live one life, not two?

Weaving deftly between 1980 and the present day, and told in an unforgettable voice, Long Black Veil is an intensely atmospheric thriller that explores the meaning of identity, loyalty, and love. Listeners will hail this as Boylan's triumphant return to fiction.

©2017 Jennifer Finney Boylan (P)2017 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"[A] madcap thriller full of hidden identities.... And embedded in the whodunit is a heartwarming midlife love story, in which hard-won candor, tenacity, and a generous sense of humor are the most saving of graces." (Publishers Weekly)

"Boylan, who has reaped praise in recent years with memoirs exploring her transgender experience, doesn't miss a storytelling beat in her first novel as she blends atmospheric elements of a Shirley Jackson-like haunting, a secret-laden murder tale featuring an ensemble cast, and an eye-opening glimpse of the complex choices transgender people face. This crime debut is certain to attract a genre-blurring following, but recommendations to fans of Erin Kelly's The Poison Tree and Donna Tartt's The Secret History are sure bets." (Booklist)

"Boylan's twisty and entertaining thriller takes a hard look at questions of identity, love, and trust. Recommended for fans of Megan Abbott and Donna Tartt." (Library Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (40 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
3.9 (37 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (4)
Story
3.7 (38 )
5 star
 (19)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (7)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Catherine Ransom 05-03-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome!"

    JFB is a wonderful story teller. Love the audible. Great mystery! Highly recommended! I bought the hardcover also!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jessica 05-06-17
    Jessica 05-06-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Solid literary mystery"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Long Black Veil to be better than the print version?

    I love authors who read their own work, and I love narrators who don't have that old-school style. Some characters really get a chance to exist more fully when I get to hear them the way the author envisions. People who prefer a more traditional narrator may want to listen to an audio sample first to get a feel for it. I really settled in to Boylan's narration, she does great voices and accents, too.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    The summary spoils some thinks about the book that I wish it wouldn't, but it's hard to write around one of the major plot points. The first-person narrator of much of the book is such a great character.


    Any additional comments?

    It's recommended for readers of Tartt and Abbott and they are both some of my favorites. Boylan's tone and prose may not feel much like either of theirs, but this is definitely a character-driven novel more than a crime novel and in that way it does feel apt.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ltc 04-14-17
    ltc 04-14-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    19
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narration is unbearable"

    I may have liked the story, but I never had the chance to find out. Authors who read their own works often do an unfortunate job, and this one was no exception.

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maureen A. 10-18-17
    Maureen A. 10-18-17 Member Since 2011
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don’t bother with this one"

    The characters and the dialogue are ridiculously trite, and the narration is equally bad. Just awful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 06-26-17
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "author is not narrator. Accents take away from sto"
    How could the performance have been better?

    The wrong voice is reading this. The accents and intonations take away from the story.


    Any additional comments?

    I will ask for a refund.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Janet Pittsboro, NC, United States 05-08-17
    Janet Pittsboro, NC, United States 05-08-17 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    50
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Could barely get into it."
    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    The narrator totally detracted. Her voice was terrible for this. I could not listen to it.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharon vicino 05-04-17 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good with a hard start"

    I really enjoyed this book but the begging is kind of hard there are a lot of people thrown at once and it's confusing but if you last the first two hours everything starts to fall into place and becomes real thrilling!!!
    Give it a chance!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    warrendbell 04-28-17
    warrendbell 04-28-17 Member Since 2011
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    78
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Decent book, awful narration"

    The author reads her own work, and unfortunately she has a very odd style. She frequently stops in the middle of a sentence, then adds the last two or three words one at a time, as if she might be running out of breath. Her character voices are also very poorly done -- for instance, the character of Casey, a lifelong resident of Philadelphia, sounds like a Jeff Spicoli-style Cali surfer dude.

    The book itself has its problems as well (such as a few amazingly convenient plot turns), but none of them are as troubling as the narration.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.