Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

"If you liked Big Little Lies, you'll want to crack open this new novel by Nicole Baart." (Southern Living)

An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.

I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn't think much of it. They haven't seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora's fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text.

But when a haunted Nora shows up at the lake near Quinn's house just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever. Nora's "something" is more shocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little girl, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to keep her safe, and not to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect.

But before Quinn can ask even one of the million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy. While Quinn struggles to honor her sister's desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she fears that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head-something that will threaten them all. But Quinn's worries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It's a matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and ultimately, about the lengths a woman will go to protect the ones she loves.

©2017 Nicole Baart (P)2017 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Sigh, unconsciously racist plus convoluted

This book has an interesting premise and moments of excellent writing. However, it is a tangled mess, plot-wise, with semi-developed characters who are often perplexingly obtuse. It is also quite unconsciously racist with wincingly painful hints that one character is... latinx? News flash: a latin last name and brown curls doesn’t identify someone! Of course this exotic guy from a stereotypically warm and open family (yet still clueless to obvious plot points, and he acts very wasp-y) is the only one described particularly, in a way that calls attention to his skin color, while never spelling it out. Everyone else is just “tall, brown hair.” Presumably it goes without saying that they are white? Yearrrgggh. Enough!