Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

If your old life vanished completely, should you try to get it back or create a whole new one? That's the intriguing question at the heart of Catherine McKenzie's Forgotten.

The smart, funny, and provocative story of a woman who returns home after being stranded for months in Africa by an earthquake, only to find that everyone in her life believed she was dead and moved on, Forgotten is captivating and thought-provoking contemporary women's fiction from the author of Arranged and Spin - a fresh and witty tale that will not be soon forgotten.

©2012 Catherine McKenzie (P)2016 Catherine McKenzie

Critic Reviews

"For fans of The Good Wife, Catherine McKenzie's Forgotten is a pure, page-turning pleasure." (Gwendolen Gross, author of The Orphan Sister)
"By turns hilarious and heart-tugging.... A thoroughly enjoyable read!" (Juliette Fay, author of Deep Down True)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Thin plot premise felt amateurish

Any additional comments?

This book felt like a manuscript you might encounter at a writers workshop, like it wasn't flushed out enough for publication. The whole premise of the book -- that this lawyer was presumed dead because she was stranded in a small African village for 6 months -- wasn't quite believable. The plot and characters felt very two dimensional and thin at best. The narrator does a decent job, enough to get me to the end, but the whole thing felt very amateurish.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Chick-lit at its Best.

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Definitely, this book is well-written with interesting characters and an original plot.

What did you like best about this story?

It tackles the problem of what makes your life worth living in an original way. In the story, Emma sorts through influences of society, her mother, and the imprint her father's abandonment left on her and finds herself.

Which scene was your favorite?

That is a hard choice. There are lots of good scenes, but I think my favorite is when Emma comes home from Africa on a wintry cold day to find her apartment has been leased to a total stranger. Her pictures and many of her belongings are gone. Her bank account has been frozen. She has no money. The brilliance of this book is that this scene is funny and poignant. It is touching, but not heavy. It is funny first, and then thought provoking. Great book.

Who was the most memorable character of Forgotten and why?

All of the characters are well-written, but Emma is my favorite. She is an ambitious lawyer who likes a challenge. She went to law school to learn to argue so well that she would never again lose an argument. Yet, she takes a month off to go to Africa to fulfill the dying request of her mother. Very likable character.

Any additional comments?

This is for an adult audience. Some steamy sex scenes. Great book. I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Barbara
  • Jenkinsburg, GA, United States
  • 05-01-18

Lost

I did not like Emma.
I’m having shard time with Catherine ‘s book. Story are pretty good but the characters unlikable. The female characters are all shallow and foolish.
Emma is book smart but street stupid.
She really is not that into Craig. She can’t figure out that after six months people are not sitting waiting for her and would think the worst happened to her. I guess at an older age all the anguish this woman feels like well past and can’t relate too. I can’t relate to any of this girl’s issues except falling sick and being in a natural disaster.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Forgotten

This is a great book!Imagine losing a parent and taking a trip that was left to you in the will.You plan on being gone a few weeks,which turns into months for reasons you can't do anything about.When you return,you find that you were presumed dead.The fallout is amazing!Kristi Burns is the perfect narrator.I was given this book free by the author.narrator or publisher.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Catherine McKenzie is a good fit for my reading pr

Would you consider the audio edition of Forgotten to be better than the print version?

I haven't read the printed version, but this is a good story.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Emma -- she's funny and "real"; at least she seems like she is easily a person in the real world I could be friends with.

Have you listened to any of Kristi Burns’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I have listened to Spin and Kristi Burns does a great job.

Any additional comments?

This audiobook was given voluntarily at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review via Audiobook Boom

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting story, although somewhat predictable.

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

Yes. Narrator was great. I enjoyed the story, although I didn't love it. It kept my attention and the characters were interesting.

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

It was somewhat predictable... maybe add a little more conflict somehow.

What about Kristi Burns’s performance did you like?

She was great! Tone, narration, enthusiasm... she made the characters come to life.

Do you think Forgotten needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

I would be interested to see what happens to the characters, especially Emma as she truly settles back into her "new" life.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A story never forgotten!

Oh, this book was so sweet, light and easy to listen to. It was filled with a great sense of humor and not long into it, I knew I had found another favorite author and narrator.

Emma has lost her mother to cancer and fulfills her dying wish about going on a one month trip to Africa. Due to an earthquake Emma is stuck in Africa for 6 months without much communication to the world outside. Her friends and co-workers think she died in the earthquake and when she finally returns, she finds herself in the most horrifying nightmare of picking up the pieces of the life she left behind.

I loved the storyline and it is very well developed and so is the characters. I loved the way how I could feel Emma in my bones with her thoughts and worries. The dialogue is also top-notch and extremely humorous! It's a tragic story told with many funny elements.

It's hard for me not to give this book 5 stars because I really enjoyed it to the fullest. However, I was left with many unanswered questions and loose ends. A part of me wish there would be a sequel - or just a little novella, to fill me in with these loose ends. I thought it ended very sudden, even though it had the ending I was hoping for. That's why I'll give it 4 stars (4½ if I could!) for the story, but I still consider Catherine McKenzie to be an amazing author.

Narrator Kristi Burns also did an amazing performance. She made me feel I was watching a movie or TV-show. I kept getting images in my mind throughout the story, like I was watching it on screen or was a fly on the wall. Kristi is very authentic in her narration and draws you into the story, like everything seems natural to her. She's now on my top favorite narrator list!

*This book was gifted to me in exchange for an honest review. Read all my reviews at mybookhype dot com

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Found

Catherine Mckenzie's novel is sweet and simple. I enjoyed that it held many genres including comedy, romance, and mystery. It was well written and an enjoyable read. The only thing I wanted is a little more closure in the end for the main character, but that's personal preference.

Narrator Kristi Burns did a fine job narrating the book. She had great pace and rhythm. However I wasn't a fan of some of the male character voices. More is less for me.

I was hung up, however, on the editing/quality of the audiobook. It was obvious where narration edits were done as the audio quality, tone, and volume did not match. There were also several mouth noises that threw off the fluidity of the narration.

Overall, a nice story.
I would recommend it to someone looking for an easy going read.

This audiobook was given to me in exchange for an honest review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this book!

What a fun book with a plot that I haven't seen before. Returning home after 6 months in Africa, Emma finds that everyone thought she was dead. But the story isn't the sad book that you might think it is. Instead, Catherine McKenzie gives you the fun, light-hearted and quirky side of the story. Kristi Burns narration of this story is spot on. She does an amazing job!
I was given this audio book in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great premise for a story

I would class this as women's fiction. The audiobook was based on a very interesting concept. Emma, the heroine went on a trip to Africa and because of a natural disaster, everyone presumes she's dead. When she returns to pick her life back up, she can't. I thoroughly enjoyed the intrigue in the early parts of the book but equally liked reading life beginning to return to some normality. The relationships in this book are hugely complex and betrayal is on the menu from multiple angles.

Emma herself was both an empowered character and wishy washy at times. However, I think her experiences earned her the chance to be weak in certain situations. Dominic was at first a bit of a hero in my eyes but later he annoyed me. Craig left me frustrated.

This is my first book by Catherine Mckenzie but I will be reading more by her.

This was a well narrated story with emotions captured well and a pleasing voice that seemed to fit the character.

The author provided a copy of this audiobook in return for an honest review.

Reviewed for Jo&IsaLoveBooks Blog.