Your audiobook is waiting…

Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss

Narrated by: Caitlin Kelly
Length: 7 hrs and 59 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (38 ratings)
Regular price: $27.37
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Fan-favorite author Kasie West delivers an effervescent story about chasing your dreams and following your heart, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Huntley Fitzpatrick.

Lacey Barnes has dreamed of being an actress for as long as she can remember. So when she gets the opportunity to star in a movie alongside one of Hollywood’s hottest actors, she doesn’t hesitate to accept the part.

But Lacey quickly learns that life in the spotlight isn’t as picture-perfect as she imagined. She’s having trouble bonding with her costars, her father has hired the definition of a choir boy, Donavan Lake, to tutor her, and somewhere along the way, she’s lost her acting mojo. And just when it seems like things couldn’t get any worse, it looks like someone on set is deliberately trying to sabotage her. 

As Lacey’s world spins out of control, it feels like the only person she can count on - whether it’s helping her try to unravel the mystery of who is out to get her or snap her out of her acting funk - is Donavan. But what she doesn’t count on is this straitlaced boy becoming another distraction.

With her entire future riding on this movie, Lacey knows she can’t afford to get sidetracked by a crush. But for the first time in her life, Lacey wonders if it’s true that the best stories really do happen when you go off script.

©2019 Kasie West (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Claudio
  • BARTLESVILLE, OK
  • 02-19-19

Great, Clean Romance

I really like listening to Kasie West when I am in the mood for some romance. Her books aren't cheesy, or have sex scenes.
This was one of my favorite's of hers. I liked the character development, the mystery, there was some humor and wit...it was fun to listen to. I liked being part of the Hollywood world without drug usage, sex, etc. Highly recommend for all ages!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Doha
  • New York, NY, United States
  • 02-06-19

Nice ..

The book was light and simple.. no drama and the story is fast paced and filled with friendship and fun moments, it was lacking the cuteness I always see in Kasie's books but it was nice and fluffy
it's about Lacey who is acting in her first movie and someone is trying to set her to fail, and it's up to her and her friends to find out who that is.. there is a bit of romance and Abby and Cooper ( from Love, Life and the List ) do make an appearance and help out .. but overall it was just ok

The narration was the best part of this book she was just amazing and had variety of accents and voices .. she was amazing

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

nice enough

it was nice, pretty sweet but overall I think it will be very forgettable. enjoyable to listen to at the time though

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Loved it. Easily one of my top three Kasie West books. Can’t wait for the next companion book.