Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape.

Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. When they were younger, Daniel and Cathy had gone to school. But they were not like the other children then, and they were even less like them now.

Sometimes Daddy disappeared and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home, he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.

Atmospheric and unsettling, Elmet is a lyrical commentary on contemporary society and one family's precarious place in it as well as an exploration of how deep the bond between father and child can go.

©2017 Fiona Mozley (P)2017 John Murray Press

Critic Reviews

"Ms Mozley writes with clarity and insight, and her descriptions of the natural world and human relationships are both specific and profound... Elmet is a quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable. It is hard not to feel that at 29, Ms Mozley has only just begun." ( The Economist)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written and structured

The protagonist Daniel’s perspective is well read. The writing is beautiful which listening brings out and the taut ending keeps you going. Daniel with his sister Cathy and fighter father live isolated and self sustaining and confront a real villain. It is worth being on the Booker’s short list

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • bookylady
  • 10-13-17

A Powerful Story of Outsiders& Family Love/Loyalty

This is a satisfying novel and one which I listened to in three marathon sessions. It is, on the face of it, a simple narrative concerning a family which lives on the edge of society, clinging to each other and living a simple life.

But they are surrounded by outside pressures, mysteries from the past, simmering violence from within and without the family and a local landowner who threatens their existence in the home they built on his land, without permission.

The ending is heartbreaking and thought-provoking and I was left wanting to know more. Great writing, with believable characters and an absorbing, interesting plot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Roy Pierce-Jones
  • 09-22-17

A strong debut novel.

This new writer displays a vivid pictorial ability that is poetic in places.The book is sometimes overwritten but overall it works wonderfully well. There is a powerful and violent conclusion to the book that lingers in the mind for some time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 11-02-17

Astonishingly good

Beautifully written. Very well read. Can't wait to see what this new writer produces next.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • sin sin minkin
  • 04-08-18

Uncomplicated, Natural, Good versus Evil

The opening was not promising, but with the growing characters my eagerness to hear more and more increased. in the end, I ran the car home on a circuitous route to listen all the way to the end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SecondLook
  • 04-08-18

Excellent

Excellent book, really enjoyed it. Beautiful language and a great story with some unexpected twists. The narrator also did an incredible job.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mintsauce
  • 01-03-18

Beautifully written and performed

A beautifully written book, covering a sorely under-reported area of British life.

The characterisation never quite pulled me in 100% and the ending felt slightly flat, but it's still a hugely enjoyable listen.

Gareth Bennett-Ryan is brilliant, a top 5 performer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Markrlll
  • 12-26-17

Shockingly good!

Beautifully written, wonderfully paced - a modern western set in the north of the UK - fabulous! How it did not win the Booker I do not know

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Andrew W.
  • 11-24-17

excellent

beautifully written and gripping story. the narration was also excellent. I would recommend to anyone

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah B.
  • 03-09-18

A slow start, page-turning middle, disappointing ending

The best thing about this book was the narration by Gareth Bennett-Ryan. Had I been reading a hard copy I doubt I would have made it to the end. However I’m glad I did even though I felt it came too soon as there was more to unpack. Overall I’m glad I read it, it gave me plenty to think about.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • david
  • 02-05-18

Excellent

Fantastic writing, very absorbing,just leaves you wanting more. Cant wait to see what's next from this author

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jessica Power
  • 09-24-18

Brilliant

A very good, subtle performance of an excellent novel. Still reeling at the ending. Even all the foreshadowing didn’t guess that it would end like that.