Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Shelby Nichols needs some time off, but for a mind-reader with ties to the police and the mob, is that even possible?

Her kids want the dog she's promised them, the police need her to talk to a counselor, and Uncle Joey has unexpected news that could change her life. Is Shelby up to the task? Let's hope so, because solving a murder might be easier than granting a dying wish.

Join Shelby in her best adventure yet!

USA Today and Wall Street Journal best-selling author Colleen Helme offers a clever mix of mystery, laugh-out-loud humor, and pause-resisting adventure in the highly acclaimed Shelby Nichols Adventure Series.

Praise for The Shelby Nichols Series

"I cannot get enough from this incredible author! I have followed Shelby from Carrots to this latest story and have loved every one. I couldn't say which I have liked and enjoyed more; Colleen is an incredibly talented person and her stories tell us why. This collection of stories starring Shelby Nichols is beyond good, and I highly recommend it." (Christina Brett)

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Hunter, Eve Langlais, Shannon Mayer, Jana DeLeon, and Darynda Jones.

©2020 Colleen Helme (P)2020 Colleen Helme

What listeners say about Dying Wishes (A Paranormal Women's Fiction Novel)

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Shelby Nichols series is always great fun!

Author Colleen Helme and narrator Wendy Tremont King deliver another fun Shelby Nichols adventure in DYING WISHES which is Book 14 in the series which includes the subtitle of A Paranormal Women's Fiction Novel. I'm not a woman but I love it nevertheless. I'm not usually a fan of the paranormal. All 14 novels to date have had the paranormal aspect of the protagonist being able to read minds. Dying Wishes for the first time adds a very helpful ghost. If you are looking for a light and fun mystery series the Shelby Nichols Adventures series is perfect. Each novel is standalone but to really appreciate the series listen to the first two novels in the series before later ones.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another winner

Colleen Helme has done it again with this latest addition in the Shelby Nichols mystery Series. It’s loaded with all the fun and surprises we’ve come to expect, along with a cozy mystery. I look forward to the next to follow. I highly recommend this book/audiobook to fans of cozy mysteries.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Soooo good !

Carolyn, once again Shelby manages to get herself into & out of predicaments that are scary , funny sometimes & just unusual. Love the dog insert, can’t wait to see what happens next. Never let Wendy go, she’s Shelby forever in our minds !

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I want more!

I love this book series. I hope there is more to come. I love the new addition to this story with Coco. It had me it tears. So happy with how it turned out. :)

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book was SOO good

This book is one of my favorites. There are multiple mysteries in this 1 and they were all fantastic. The family is on the hunt for a family dog. I fell in love with Cocoa. This is one of my favorites the narrator did a fantastic job in this book. Highly recommend.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just Great

I love all the books in this series. I've read them multiple times. I highly recommend you read them in order to fully grasp the whole saga.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Ms. Helme pulls it off again

This is book 14 so I was a bit worried, although I bought it as soon as it was available, as I loved the other 13. The beginning of the book concerned me as it seemed as if Shelby was becoming an adrenaline junkie. However, she seemed to settle down after the newest, great character was added to the story. I hope to see more of him in the future. I enjoy Shelby, although her morals are not in line with mine. She has more choices than she thinks she does. She leaves her family worried sick over her and runs off, happily staying out late. I was also very upset about the drugs sold to students. No-one seems to recognize that the reason a 17-year old became so angry that he killed for no reason was due to the type of drug he was consuming. And no-one is concerned about the continuation of that type of drug dealing. (spoiler alert) Also, I'm not happy that Uncle Joey is continuing to be a mob boss, as a businessman of his caliber could still pull off great deals (needing Shelby's help) and could easily use the law to his advantage. It's absolutely absurd that no-one has noticed that Shelby keeps running straight from the police station to mob headquarters over and over. There's obviously a requirement for suspension of belief for any urban fantasy, but as a mystery lover that overly obvious fact keeps bothering me. I also would have liked a more correct procedure (or at least more believable procedure) for the final mystery solved - although I must admit that I can't think of one, given the need to stay true to the murderer's character. All in all, as I said in the title, it's still a great book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

love this series. can't wait for the next one. she t is a great arthor .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

best yet!

Great story and especially loved the incorporation of CoCo! I hope this direction will continue!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for locky8
  • locky8
  • 10-11-20

Shelby rocks!

I absolutely love this series of books. Book 14 is brilliant and narrated superbly by Wendy Tremont-king. To me she is Shelby. Shelby is struggling with nightmares after bring the target of a mop hit man. Part of the conditions for her to return to work at the Precinct is that she has to see a therapist. But in true Shelby style she takes on too many cases. Mainly because there's a rival physic after her job. She also promised her kids a dog and the dog they choose come with it's own mystery to solve. With helping Uncle Joey too, Shelby feels things are spiralling out of her control. I have every book in this series either a kindle version or audible copy and happily read them or listen again and again. Highly recommend this series. I received a free copy of this audio book from the author but the opinion expressed is my own. I really love these books. Start with Carrots and you won't be disappointed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 10-15-20

Shelby is back and better than ever!

As you can guess from my title I loved this book. Some how the very talented author manages to keep the series going strong and book fourteen is still as fresh, interesting and captivating as book one. I love the addition of the dog to the Shelby household but must confess I did have a few tears. There was so much going on, helping the police, working and worrying about uncle Joey and even solving the death of her dogs previous owner, that the hours spent listening to the story just flew by. There were three cases or mysteries going on but with the carefully worked out plot it was easy to follow along. The characters are wonderful and a very mix group but everything about this story works for me, even the ghostly helping hand and mother nature part seems right for a Shelby adventure and her mind reading ability never gets old. Can't wait for the next book. Shelby returns from a less than relaxing holiday to find the police department have hired a new psychic while she was away and she and Dimples are working a case. A woman as been found covered in blood with no memory of what happened. When her husband is found dead Shelby hopes they don't make a big mistake. At the same time someone is using Uncle Joey's name to sell drugs and when he turns up murdered the police are once again looking at the mob boss. On the home front Shelby is talked into rescuing a dog from the animal shelter only to find out the reason he was placed there was because his previous owner was murdered. Can she help get to the bottom of all three cases? Show up the psychic as being a fraud or at the very least stop her from replacing her? And can she keep her secret from the counsellor that the police department require her to see but maybe her dog would be a much better sounding board for all her worries about her cases and Uncle Joey. Wendy is a brilliant narrator and she does some great voices for the characters, even the dog sounds good. Yep! I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs C
  • Mrs C
  • 10-10-20

A great listen

I love this series, and this book did not let it down. Wonderfully read as ever. Lots of mysteries going on in Shelby's life and she is having to juggle it all as always. These stories always put a smile on my face.