Regular price: $6.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Editorial Reviews

Here, in the tradition of Nixon in China, Joyce Carol Oates and composer John Duffy present a roman à clef about the scandal of Ted Kennedy at Chappaquiddick, based on Oates's novel of the same name. For modern opera, the music is particularly accessible, if not exactly tuneful. The pristine recording preserves a live concert performance in Los Angeles, featuring a superb cast backed by a three-piece instrumental ensemble. Karen Burlingame as Kelly and Patrick Mason as the Senator stand out for their fine voices and passionate portrayals.

Publisher's Summary

Based on National Book Award-winner Joyce Carol Oates' novella about the Chappaquiddick scandal, this tragic and beautiful new opera enthralls as a handsome Senator uses power to enchant, seduce, and carelessly destroy.
Don't miss these other LA Theatre Works productions of Joyce Carol Oates' writings: American Appetites and Gulf War & Black. Novella
©1998 Joyce Carol Oates (P)1998 L.A. Theatre Works

Critic Reviews

"For modern opera, the music is particularly accessible...Karen Burlingame as Kelly and Patrick Nelson as the Senator stand out for their fine voices and passionate portrayals." (AudioFile)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0