Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Internationally best-selling author Mhairi McFarlane delivers a funny, romantic, heartfelt novel perfect for fans of Josie Silver or Sally Thorne, and anyone who loves Bridget Jones!

You always remember your first love...don’t you?

If there’s anything worse than being fired from the lousiest restaurant in town, it’s coming home early to find your boyfriend in bed with someone else. Reeling from the humiliation of a double dumping in one day, Georgina takes the next job that comes her way - bartender in a newly opened pub. There’s only one problem: It’s run by the guy she fell in love with years ago. And - make that two problems - he doesn’t remember her. At all. But she has fabulous friends and her signature hot pink fur coat...what more could a girl really need?

Lucas McCarthy has not only grown into a broodingly handsome man, but he’s also turned into an actual grown-up, with a thriving business and a dog along the way. Crossing paths with him again throws Georgina’s rocky present into sharp relief - and brings a secret from her past bubbling to the surface. Only she knows what happened 12 years ago, and why she’s allowed the memories to chase her ever since. But maybe it’s not too late for the truth...or a second chance with the one that got away?

©2019 Mhairi McFarlane (P)2019 HarperAudio

What listeners say about Don't You Forget About Me

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    436
  • 4 Stars
    174
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    459
  • 4 Stars
    114
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    378
  • 4 Stars
    154
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Romantic but relatable

Being on the eve of 30 myself and having recently re-read (listened to) Wuthering Heights this book felt so relatable. As a hopeless romantic I loved everything about it. While there is a romance at the center of the story, I think this book does a good job of depicting the pressures of needing to have everything figured out by 30 and how life doesn't always work out that way.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed

Excellent story about finding one’s self esteem through comforting the past. The characters were all well developed and relatable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

RomCom as directed by Greta Gerwig

While this was marketed as your typical romantic comedy, there was much more depth here than I expected. I really liked it!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cute, Emotional Romantic Drama

This was hard for me to get into at first. I think if I was reading the book it would have been different, as I could go back and double check who a character was, but since I listen to books at work or in the car and am sometimes only partially listening, it can be more challenging to follow along. Not necessarily the authors fault, just it is what it is. When I first started this book it was like that, but as time went on I was able to follow the characters and the plot line just fine. I liked the narrator's voice and the characters were well rounded. I wasn't looking for a cheesy romance novel, but instead something more angsty and emotional with an actual story line. This novel delivered that as well as some laughs here and there. If you like the move Love, Rosie or the book One Day In December, then I think you would like this as well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpected Joy

This was a great feel-good romance book! I truly enjoyed it and look forward to other books by Mhairi McFarlane.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpectedly amazing!

I was surprised by how much I love this book! At first it was hard to listen to me because her accent is so thick and there were terms I didn’t understand to begin with. But as the story went on, I felt a kinship with Georgina. So many profound messages that I need the physical book so I can look back on it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Aw!

I loved this book! I laughed and swooned. It was an enjoyable read that made you feel good. I’m thankful there wasn’t 1/3 of the book used on sex because it made it so much sweeter. I will read again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Charming

Fun story with the perfect amount of wit & humor. I enjoyed the narration, though it was difficult to understand at times, especially in the beginning, as you don’t know what’s going on yet in the book and the accent is very strong and there’s already a lot of unfamiliar dialogue. I would recommend though.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More than what I expected!

The description of this title holds back so much! I was pleasantly surprised to have so much more in depth character development and background stories. I really got to know all these characters and felt like they were people I would know. The perfect amount of heartache and laughter. Great story, great narration. Loved this book!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well narrated and good story

I liked this book a lot but want to mention a trigger warning there’s a retelling of a past sexual assault not necessarily extremely graphic but intense.