adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Internationally best-selling author Mhairi McFarlane delivers a funny, romantic, heartfelt novel perfect for fans of Josie Silver or Sally Thorne, and anyone who loves Bridget Jones!

You always remember your first love...don’t you?

If there’s anything worse than being fired from the lousiest restaurant in town, it’s coming home early to find your boyfriend in bed with someone else. Reeling from the humiliation of a double dumping in one day, Georgina takes the next job that comes her way - bartender in a newly opened pub. There’s only one problem: It’s run by the guy she fell in love with years ago. And - make that two problems - he doesn’t remember her. At all. But she has fabulous friends and her signature hot pink fur coat...what more could a girl really need?

Lucas McCarthy has not only grown into a broodingly handsome man, but he’s also turned into an actual grown-up, with a thriving business and a dog along the way. Crossing paths with him again throws Georgina’s rocky present into sharp relief - and brings a secret from her past bubbling to the surface. Only she knows what happened 12 years ago, and why she’s allowed the memories to chase her ever since. But maybe it’s not too late for the truth...or a second chance with the one that got away?

©2019 Mhairi McFarlane (P)2019 HarperAudio

What listeners say about Don't You Forget About Me

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    744
  • 4 Stars
    296
  • 3 Stars
    78
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    15
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    779
  • 4 Stars
    196
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    12
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    643
  • 4 Stars
    264
  • 3 Stars
    83
  • 2 Stars
    29
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Helpful for Sexual Assault Victims

This book was emotional for me. I was looking for a light romcom book, which it was for approximately three fourths. I'm not sure what chapter or scene, but I could feel the creeping dread of "oh fuck, is this going where I think it is". The big reveal monologue at the end of this book hit me in the chest, and I cried for hours afterwards. A similar incident to the one described by the main character happened to me in high school, but I had never thought of the incident as assault. Because of the incident, I started calling myself a slut, someone not to be trusted, a bad person that lets others down. Reading this book was the first time that feeling of self blame and horror was put into words I could understand. I was a victim and I deserve healing and love. I am a healthier, happier person from reading (and processing with a therapist) this book. Thank you Mhairi.

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Romantic but relatable

Being on the eve of 30 myself and having recently re-read (listened to) Wuthering Heights this book felt so relatable. As a hopeless romantic I loved everything about it. While there is a romance at the center of the story, I think this book does a good job of depicting the pressures of needing to have everything figured out by 30 and how life doesn't always work out that way.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story that's really just barely a romance

This is a really great story. Finding yourself. Coming to terms with your past. The one that got away. It has it all. I devoured it in like 3 days which is fast when I'm listening and have a full time job and 3 kids. Pretty much just walked around with one ear bud in constantly because I just "couldn't put it down".

With that said, it is advertised as romance, but the main character, Georgina, really just spends a lot of time thinking about men. There's very little "action". If you're looking for something that is consistently swoony and/or steamy, this is not it. It's really more of a novel about Georgina that involves love and ends with some swoony stuff.

If you're not DYING for a very romantic romance, definitely give it a try.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cute, Emotional Romantic Drama

This was hard for me to get into at first. I think if I was reading the book it would have been different, as I could go back and double check who a character was, but since I listen to books at work or in the car and am sometimes only partially listening, it can be more challenging to follow along. Not necessarily the authors fault, just it is what it is. When I first started this book it was like that, but as time went on I was able to follow the characters and the plot line just fine. I liked the narrator's voice and the characters were well rounded. I wasn't looking for a cheesy romance novel, but instead something more angsty and emotional with an actual story line. This novel delivered that as well as some laughs here and there. If you like the move Love, Rosie or the book One Day In December, then I think you would like this as well.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Fine writing, overstuffed story, cringe-worthy end

I can see why other folks might like this one — it's got some Bridget Jones elements (similar friends, similar boy problems, some slight quirks). The writing is solid with a few inventive touches, and the reader's performance does justice to distinctive secondary characters. But the story feels overstuffed — chapters and chapters of family drama that make for a real slog; an unnecessary subplot following the protagonist's fixation on a restaurant from which she was sacked; a slapdash addition of dead-wife backstory. This, for me, was what made the experience less than stellar.

If you want to be fussy, there's much more to pick at, including the feeling that the protagonist's love interest might not be very compelling were he not also Irish; a harrowing (and movingly written) climactic twist pulled out of absolutely nowhere, vaguely connected to an idea that the protagonist has insecurities never really *demonstrated* in the book; and a final grand, out-of-character romantic gesture that would — in reality — absolutely mortify anyone on its receiving end. All of these issues, however, are pretty typical of the genre, so I'm less inclined to argue that they sink the story.

Everything taken together, though — it didn't feel like something I'd want to sit through again, which tends to be my litmus test for whether I've relished a book. This one just helped me pass the time.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

RomCom as directed by Greta Gerwig

While this was marketed as your typical romantic comedy, there was much more depth here than I expected. I really liked it!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

no character voices

I liked the Story alright but I had a really hard time following. I really need narrators that change voices depending on the character when reading a story. I actually couldnt even finish the audio version.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Just ok

This book did not keep my attention well but I enjoyed the last part. Just ok.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More Than Your Average Romantic Comedy

in the parlance of movies this would fit in the category of dramedy. I expected a fun, light-hearted romantic comedy and there is a good bit of that but without being too heavy it deals with some real as opposed to the standard convoluted life and love conflict. Great character building sometimes a little drawn out and the narrator isn't always that good at differentiating voices but otherwise excellent and not overly distracting.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

❣️

This book is utterly exquisite. Do yourself a favor right now and READ THIS BOOK.

1 person found this helpful