adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $10.39

Buy for $10.39

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"If you love storytelling in the style of David Sedaris, this audiobook - narrated by Janetti himself - is for you." (Yahoo Lifestyle)

This program is read by the author.

Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey...meet your new friend Gary Janetti.

Gary Janetti, the writer and producer for some of the most popular television comedies of all time, and creator of one of the most wickedly funny Instagram accounts there is, now turns his skills into a hilarious, and poignant audiobook chronicling the pains and indignities of everyday life.

Gary spends his 20s in New York, dreaming of starring on soap operas while in reality working at a hotel where he lusts after an unattainable colleague and battles a bellman who despises it when people actually use a bell to call him. He chronicles the torture of finding a job before the internet when you had to talk on the phone all the time, and fantasizes, as we all do, about who to tell off when he finally wins an Oscar. As Gary himself says, "These are essays from my childhood and young adulthood about things that still annoy me."

Original, brazen, and laugh out loud funny, Do You Mind if I Cancel? is something not to be missed.

Praise for Do You Mind If I Cancel?:

"Gary Janetti's book is so rolling-on-the-floor funny, so brilliantly observant, and so full of heart." (Kevin Kwan)

"The writing of Gary Janetti, whether televised or tweeted, is famously incisive and sharp-tongued. What a revelation it was, therefore, to discover in these revealing personal essays an artist of great tenderness and vulnerability. And he's still funny as hell." (Armistead Maupin)

"It’s no surprise that Gary Janetti's book is laugh-out-loud funny. It is just as cutting, wild, and droll as I hoped." (Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times best-selling author of Daisy Jones and the Six)

©2019 Gary Janetti (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"Gary Janetti's book is so rolling-on-the-floor funny, so brilliantly observant, and so full of heart, I'm sure a jealous Prince George will decree that Gary be locked up in the Tower of London." (Kevin Kwan, New York Times best-selling author of the Crazy Rich Asians trilogy)

“It’s no surprise that Gary Janetti's book is laugh-out-loud funny. It is just as cutting, wild, and droll as I hoped.” (Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times best-selling author of Daisy Jones and the Six)

"Almost as soon as I began to read Gary Janetti’s Do You Mind If I Cancel?, I found myself feeling the way I felt when I first encountered Fran Lebowitz and David Rakoff: laughing and wanting to shout out the best bits to whoever else was in the room, even if no one else was there. This crazy quilt of memoir, cultural history, one-liners aplenty, and periodic arias of hopefulness, frustration, and brashly rude rage, is a work of intertwined great humor and great feeling. I’ve already lost my copy, snatched up by its next eager reader.” (Benjamin Dreyer, New York Times best-selling author of Dreyer's English)

What listeners say about Do You Mind If I Cancel?

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    448
  • 4 Stars
    127
  • 3 Stars
    92
  • 2 Stars
    36
  • 1 Stars
    35
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    425
  • 4 Stars
    94
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    47
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    391
  • 4 Stars
    115
  • 3 Stars
    79
  • 2 Stars
    31
  • 1 Stars
    33

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Spoken Word Poetry?

I could not get past the monotone, spoken word poetry style of narration he chose. I understand that he's "annoyed" but it never changed at all. Most memoirs I read have inflection and cadence that help you feel what the author is feeling and thinking. I downloaded this book because I love the writers of Family Guy so I thought it would be great to hear about Gary's life, but, I cannot get past the narration. Sorry Gary! Love your work otherwise!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Did not like

Had a catchy title, thought it might be interesting. It was not at all what I am interested in reading about.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Of very little substance.

Read in Gary Janetti's deadpan voice, I thought that the book would be more laugh inducing. The stories are of little substance, and are honestly kind of boring like he's writing an essay for eighth grade English. Would probably not recommend.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

What’s with the title?

The title is totally misleading. I was hoping for a witty, slightly sarcastic commentary on everyday annoyances, something I could relate to. This was more of a memoir or coming of age story. And not that good.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Very funny

Loved it,! So funny and imaginative! Gary has a unique way of drawing you into his imagination.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very funny

This is a very funny easy listen . The author/ narrator is highly entertaining. It reminds me a little of David Sedaris.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hilarious and Brilliant

So self-aware, honest, and funny! I loved this book. Five more words needed yes

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Kept me entertained and laughing

Fun book. Very relatable, even to a straight female with no aspirations for stardom. I would have given the performance 5 stars except the pace was too varied without reason. It was easy enough to see past that and enjoy the stories though.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

i love this book!

A fun, fast and fascinating read. Highly recommend. Gary please write about your further adventures. I need more!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great find

I was looking for something to listen to because I fell and injured myself. This was the perfect answer to my glum mood.
It made me laugh, and forget my cares. Thanks Audible and Gary!

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kate Sullivan
  • Kate Sullivan
  • 02-26-20

Hilarious!

A funny and frank take on life. Not long enough though, I’d love to read more.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cam Camelita
  • Cam Camelita
  • 01-03-20

boring

I had huge expectations of this book as I follow him on Instagram and he is hilarious there, but not sure if I hated more the tone of his voice or him just telling random stories about his younger years and how hot he was and his obsession with soap operas. Not that funny and repetitive af.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Louise R
  • Louise R
  • 12-07-19

left me crying for more.

nakedly honest and unashamedly self aware. I found myself taking the long way home just to get a little more in.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for allan dib
  • allan dib
  • 12-31-19

Good story but not funy

I struggled comparing my reaction to other reviews, I did not find this funny. As a gay men who is a similar age to Gary this book brought up painful memories of loneliness, isolation, confusion and fear.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jo
  • Jo
  • 12-08-19

Don't make the same mistake as me, with this book.

Don't listen to it while applying mascara. I laughed so hard that I nearly stabbed myself in the eyeball.

The worst part of this book is that it ended. I am off now to try to find more by this author. He is brilliant and I love him.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Leslie Mcdougall
  • Leslie Mcdougall
  • 11-13-19

Amazing, hilarious, insightful

Great story, gay friendly, and very honest, everyone should read this book
Based in 80-90s

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon T.
  • Sharon T.
  • 11-10-19

Do you mind if I cancel?

Yes I do, I need more! Can we please have a do you mind if I cancel again?